Forensic Psychology
July 10, 2009 8:59 AM   Subscribe

What are the job prospects for someone with a masters' degree in forensic psychology?

Those of you in the legal field, what work do you do with psychologists? What do they do?

Is the field being flooded with recent grads?

More specifically, I am looking at CUNY-John Jay's program, if you know anything about that please share.
posted by kathrineg to Education (5 answers total)

I would encourage you to direct these questions to the people in the program you're considering. What kind of work do forensic psych folks do in general? What kind of work do their graduates do, specifically? What are typical career paths for people who've finished their program?

I am not a lawyer or in the forensic field. However, I was a science teacher and taught intro forensic science (to non-scientists) for a few years, in collaboration with criminal justice faculty, and I made several professional connections in the field. My observation is that there is a LOT of interest among students today in forensic fields, and that psychology is popular choice for people who aren't hard science students.

My suspicion is that student interest far outstrips actual professional demand. Definitely ask your program about graduate placement to see if in fact the field is absorbing recent grads.
posted by Sublimity at 2:57 PM on July 10, 2009