How do I go about changing tack in my career and getting back into academia?
June 7, 2009 7:40 AM   Subscribe

I'm desperately bored working in the legal information sector and want to go back to university/get into academia, but I'm not quite sure how to get there. Very long winded background below.

I currently am working as a law librarian/researcher in a law firm in London, but am desperately bored and stifled in my job. I've always wanted to be an academic/professor/lecturer (or whatever word you want to use), but up until now it's not something I've given much attention to as a serious idea (for various, primarily economic, reasons). The longer I work in the corporate sector though, the more I come to think that I would be much better off in an academic environment.

I did a humanties undergraduate degree (English Lit and History) in Brisbane, Australia, and at the time didn't have the financial stability to be able to support going straight into a purely academic Masters/Phd program, and was also keen to get some 'real world experience' rather than going straight into more education. In an attempt to do something vaguely academic that would still help me get a job, I decided to study for a Master in Information Management, under the not so brilliant justification that I liked books and libraries, so surely I'd like working in one. (yes, I know, not so bright). I finished my MIM in 2005, just as I moved to London, and had no trouble getting information work here. I've been working as a law librarian, in a number of different jobs since then, but am bored to death. I can't bear the tedious work and the beauraucracy of working in a law firm, and I need to do something more intellectually stimulating.