DBA to construction science.
May 10, 2009 12:37 PM   Subscribe

Is it too late to start a new a career in construction?

I've been a database admin/analyst working on large software implementations for the last 10 years, and... I think I'm done with it. The pallor from spending all daylight hours in a server room, breathlessly refreshing blogs and writing idiotic shell scripts with variable names based on memes and inside jokes, and trying not to roll my eyes in meetings when management over-promises or outright offers up vapourware to potential clients...

I've been toying with the idea of applying for a 4-year Construction Science and Management program - I love the idea of working with something tangible and solid, and maybe refocusing existing skills at planning, design, analysis and negotiation. I want to use brain and work with my hands... and actually get a degree! It's bothering me more and more that I never got one.

Can anyone tell me what this (or similar) programs are actually like? Am I too old to try to change to a construction career (although this program does have a co-op component, which may help me get a foot in a door somewhere)? What kind of jobs could I reasonably hope to get after finishing this degree and starting out in the field in my mid-30s?
posted by grippycat to Education (17 answers total) 1 user marked this as a favorite

One of my good friends did this about 7 years ago, he had to swing a hammer for a few years but he was able to exchange his management and technical experience in to a project/program management role.
posted by iamabot at 12:49 PM on May 10, 2009