Got a big room. Need ideas.
May 9, 2009 6:25 PM   Subscribe

What would you do with a 47'x47' room to bring in revenue?

I have an opportunity for a very affordable, longer-term lease on a building that has a nice-sized "conference room" in it (Dimensions: 47’x47’. Built in screen and staging available. 200-person capacity. Restrooms there too.) In the past, the room has been rented out for receptions, reunions, etc. It was not used as much as it could have been due to being in a small town. My background is in theatre and I have put on several small productions in that very room. Now I have the chance to do with it what I will. I certainly intend to stage more productions there, as well as furnish the place with tables and cater in dinners (dinner theatre, murder mysteries, etc). While I will make it generally available for rent as it has been, I want to pursue particular projects that will "pull" people in rather than simply dangling the availablity out there and hoping it is used.

Some ideas I have had for further use include:

Hosting contests (since it has screen, possibly gamers, etc)
Bringing in other theatre companies for shows
Small "concerts" that I organize
Trade shows (need to learn more about this)
Fundraisers that I organize (as opposed to just renting the room for a fundraiser)
Dances
Small film festival
Classes (acting, readers' theatre, other non-theatre topics with guest instructors)

So, if you had a room like this, in a smaller town, what would you do with it? Ideas, links to similar facilities, examples all greatly appreciated.
posted by skypieces to Work & Money (19 answers total) 1 user marked this as a favorite

Best answer: Family-friendly movie nights
posted by zippy at 6:53 PM on May 9, 2009

Best answer: kids' birthday parties
rehearsal hall for plays or bands
craft fair, zine fair, mini comic convention (you could invite a guest artist or two)
large community garage sale or swap meet
open mic night or poetry slam
karaoke
day care