Bokeh my balls with this Kodak camera
April 30, 2009 3:04 PM   Subscribe

I just got a kodak ZD 710 with manual controls. How do I shoot bokeh balls with it?

So I'm a camera novice and I ask you to please bear with me.

I got a Kodak ZD710 last month. It's not an SLR but it's not a point and shoot either. It's got some decent manual controls on it, or so the reviews said.

I thought by manual controls it meant I could hand adjust the 10x lens. Turns out no. Not by hand anyway. But there are some other ways to do it. Here's a link to the camera

I want to shoot some bokeh type photos with this. Is it possible? Take a look at the PDF of the manual and tell me. And if so, what're the settings I'd use for this camera?
posted by rileyray3000 to Media & Arts (11 answers total) 2 users marked this as a favorite

Depth of field depends on subject distance (closer focal plane = smaller depth of field), aperture (lower f number = smaller depth of field), and focal length (more zoomed in = smaller depth of field). Set your camera in "aperture priorty" ("A" on your mode dial) and set the aperture (will be a number like "f/4.0") to the lowest number possible. Since you probably have a different aperture range throughout the zoom range of the lens, experiment with which gives you the best results. Getting closer to the subject will also help -- you may have better luck with the macro (flower icon) setting.
posted by 0xFCAF at 3:12 PM on April 30, 2009

You will want to look through the menus and find the aperture setting. The widest that camera supports is f/2.8, but only when it is zoomed out all the way -- keep that in mind.
posted by qvtqht at 3:38 PM on April 30, 2009

Point and shoots have a very long DOF even at low apertures, so you'll never get bokeh like on a DSLR. The best way I found to do it on my Panasonic FZ8 (a 12x zoom) was to zoom it all the way out to 12x and shoot from about 3ft away, or as close as you can focus at that focal length.