Is an energy audit worth it?
April 6, 2009 2:12 PM   Subscribe

Should I get a home energy audit? This article says old houses use up to 50% more energy than new houses!!! Our house was built in the 1880s, and it's big enough (around 3000 sq. ft.) for waste to matter. We also live in Chicagoland, so we use a lot of heat.

Our utility companies don't offer free audits, so getting one could cost several hundred dollars. Has anyone actually saved money because of changes recommended by an energy auditor?
posted by walla to Home & Garden (8 answers total) 1 user marked this as a favorite

It depends. If your house has new windows, a recent HVAC system and decent insulation, then no, but if your house hasn't been significantly updated in the past 20 years, it's probably a good idea.
posted by electroboy at 2:15 PM on April 6, 2009

I'm no expert, but I'd think that if you have the time, you could find the tips and checklists online and do the audit yourself. A lot of them are going to be easy things: Do you have enough insulation? Are your windows double (or triple) paned? Are there leaks under the doors or window frames? Is your hot water heater insulated? etc.
posted by chrisamiller at 2:16 PM on April 6, 2009

Some of the home energy audit's involve specialized equipment like the blower door and infrared cameras, so you wouldn't be able to duplicate that with a DIY solution, but insulating and caulking would certainly help.
posted by electroboy at 2:23 PM on April 6, 2009

I am an electrician, and have seen energy audits. I have never seen one that was useful. They all seem to present obvious info, and essentially accomplish nothing.

Energy conservation however can dramatically decrease your monthly bills, and it is certainly wise to take steps toward that goal.

Are your door jambs drafty? Fix it.

What are your windows like?

How old / efficient is your HVAC system? your water heater?
There is a point at which replacing them will actually save you money.