Too Old for Videogames?
November 17, 2004 9:05 AM   Subscribe

Does anyone else find that their head likes playing computer games, but their body doesn't? (MI)

When i was younger, I played games all the time, but stopped at about the age of 16. I was playing Quake, or somesuch, when my eyes got really sore, and I started to feel really queasy.

I gave up games shortly after that. But, I recently bought a new PC, and had a voucher for a (legitimate) free copy of Half Life 2, so I started playing that to see what I was missing. And sure enough, the old problem reared it's head again.

At about the age I started having these problems, I got glasses for the first time. Don't know if these things are connected. If anyone has any tips for overcoming this, I'd appreciated it.
posted by ascullion to Sports, Hobbies, & Recreation (16 answers total)

Have you tried with the lights on/off? might be worth a shot.
posted by Flat Feet Pete at 9:10 AM on November 17, 2004

Response by poster: I have, but thanks. I 've also tried different types of monitor (normal and flatscreen), and playing with and without my glasses.
posted by ascullion at 9:12 AM on November 17, 2004

Yes. I've been eagerly awaiting HL2 but I started getting queasy just watching some in-game videos.

I find the queasiness tends to go away once there's more action happening. If the beginning of HL2 is mostly just "walk around and discover stuff" then it's going to be a rough first hour with the game.
posted by bondcliff at 9:19 AM on November 17, 2004

So its not just me. I had to give up System Shock 2 because I'd get really nauseous. I'm no stranger to FPS games, but playing SS2 turned my stomach after 15-20 minutes.
posted by neilkod at 9:48 AM on November 17, 2004