There better not be an obvious google query for this.
March 28, 2009 3:56 PM   Subscribe

I'm too ignorant to properly evaluate a historical claim that I just read.

I am a little skeptical of the following claim: that the United States in 1801 was "the first time in world history that an existing set of political leaders had been voted out of office by their opponents in a popular election. There was no precedent for a peaceful transfer of power..."

The first claim seems more plausible than the second (for example, surely it happened at least once that some monarch died and there was a peaceful transfer of power to the heir, who was part of an opposing group... or maybe not, I have no idea).

Is it really the case that never before had a popular election resulted in a change in governing party or group? I am not sure how I would even begin answering that question (I have no background in history). Please help me!
posted by prefpara to Law & Government (34 answers total) 5 users marked this as a favorite

I would like to know what comes after that ellipse.
posted by Stylus Happenstance at 4:01 PM on March 28, 2009

No problem, stylus. I just don't think it's relevant to my question.

"There was no precedent for a peaceful transfer of power, and such a transition was made all the harder by the fact that political parties - who held fundamentally different views about political issues - had not yet been truly accepted as legitimate."
posted by prefpara at 4:07 PM on March 28, 2009

Well, there were British Parliamentary elections set at every 7 years since 1716 in existing political leaders were voted out of office, but I would agree that the party system didn't really exist in England at the time.
posted by A189Nut at 4:20 PM on March 28, 2009

in which - damn the lack of editing here
posted by A189Nut at 4:21 PM on March 28, 2009