Real life experiences with Facebook apps, Amazon associates and iPhone applications?
March 23, 2009 2:39 AM   Subscribe

I have three ideas to make money. One is a real product, one a facebook application, one an iphone application. Am I being realistic?

Hello everyone. I recently found myself with some extra time on my hands (sigh) and decided to use this time to try and start my own business. I know timing is horrible... but need creates the best ideas, doesn't it?

I thought of a real product, which I believe if marketed at the right price would be a hit. Unfortunately this idea needs money for engineering the product and producing a few samples.

Therefore i thought of other two ways to make money with small initial investment (mine and a friend's time) to help me fund the first idea.

1) A facebook application that connects to the Amazon.com associates program. My friend knows how to program a facebook application, I am studying how to better include amazon data in there, this project will be the faster one to bring from start to finish - therefore we will start here.

2) An iPhone application. We still dont know if to sell the application for a small price (2$?) hoping that it flies or to make the application free and generate revenue through another associates program - even though we are not sure people are buying products from their phones yet. The application is simpler than the facebook one, but we have no clue (yet) on iPhone application developing/distributing.

My questions would be a few, but most of all what I would like to ask is real life experiences of somebody who tried (and failed/succeded) making money with facebook, amazon.com and iphone - to see wheter is worth our time and effort or these are all good ideas on paper but with no real life payoff.

I realize mileages might vary and it really depends on the ideas and how well they are executed - but a few stories by somebody else can maybe help us size our idea and lead us to better decisions!