What is the best way to pay independant contractors of my new web development company?
March 23, 2009 12:55 AM   Subscribe

I'd like to hire some designers/copywriters as contractors, how do I handle stuff like "comps" for my clients? Also, is it a common practice to tell the contractor that they will get paid when I get paid by the client? I have some more questions inside. These are partly business process questions and partly "contractor etiquette" questions.

I've been a web developer for nine and half years and I'm trying to get my own web development company rolling. I'm definitely doing this "bootstrap" style, but I'm my design/writing skills are weak so I'd like to find people to help me out in those departments.

My first web dev job was for an ad agency, so I'm somewhat familiar with the process of:

1) Talking to the client and getting a feel what they want

2) Have the designers each come with a "comp", or concept

3) Get the client to pick one

4) Do a bunch of revs and get approval

5) Developers/copy writers/designers build the site

6) Client approves, everyone is happy.

If everyone is employees (like they were at my job) this is pretty cut and dry. Everyone would turn in their hours or be on salary and the company would pay them.

But, in my case, these people would be independent contractors.

I haven't found all the people I need, but I may have a couple designers and perhaps one copy writer I can use. But for this question let's say that I hypothetically have 5 designers and 3 copy writers I can send work too.

1) What would be the best setup for paying for comps? Should I tell the designers "Here's what the client wants, spend x hours on an idea"? Or, is there some sort of industry standard "Comp Price"?

2) Is it acceptable to only pay for a design that the client chooses?

3) Is an accepted practice to pay the contractors when I get paid by the client (50% deposit up front, 25% at half way point, 25% at completion)?