How to Stop Hating My Job?
March 19, 2009 9:22 AM   Subscribe

What can I do to stop hating my job? I really cannot stand my job, but I work full-time to support my husband while he goes to graduate school. He has all kinds of work/social functions that I've come to dread because it's all I can do not to burst into tears when someone asks "What do you do?"

I work in the arts & culture sector. It's really hard to get a job in this field, so I was relieved to have found a job in my field. But I have come to hate my work. I work by myself (I'm the sole employee for this organization) 40 hours a week in a basement doing data entry & scanning documents. I have no interaction during the workweek with anyone. My boss works in another building, contacting me only when a new set of documents has arrived for the database. She's never said "hello" or asked me about myself, nevermind wishing me "Happy Birthday" or "Have a good trip."

I have a Master's degree but never get to put into practice any of the skills & subject knowledge I have. My employer is unsupportive of professional development -- any meetings or workshops I might attend come out of my own vacation time & personal finances & so I haven't been to any in a year. I'm not learning any new skills, ideas, or approaches. I feel like my skills & abilities have atrophied, that I'm undervalued, and I've lost confidence in my ability to do anything beyond what I do here. I really don't remember what other skills & abilities I have. My husband has encouraged me to write academic articles to stay relevant in my field, but with every passing day I feel more disconnected from my field and don't even know where to begin.