Repetitive, riffy, drum driven songs
February 26, 2009 5:42 PM   Subscribe

Suggest me some songs driven by drum riffs.

I love songs that have a great percussion section, and those with repetitive drum riffs are some of my favorites from those. An idea of what I'm looking for would be Autolux's Turnstile Blues, or Morrissey's All You Need Is Me. Something with different sounding, repetitive drum riffs, and a couple of drum breaks to really get the feel of the beat. Is riff even the right word? Show me what you have!
posted by Bleusman to Media & Arts (52 answers total) 12 users marked this as a favorite

How about Fleetwood Mac's song "Tusk"?
posted by newfers at 5:56 PM on February 26, 2009

The song that springs to mind first is "Rock n Roll" by Led Zepplin.
posted by Bookhouse at 5:57 PM on February 26, 2009

"Seconds" by U2
posted by Ironmouth at 6:01 PM on February 26, 2009

I was a drummer for ten years, and I have no idea what you mean. There are certainly drum-driven songs, but the ones you link to seem to be just plain rock songs with just plain rock drums.

In any case, no, riff is not the right word. There are beats, there are fills, there are solos, and there are breaks (which, to the drummer, is just more beat). The Morrissey song you link to could be said to have a break, but really it's a guitar solo. The other one is basically a Levee redux, so maybe start there?
posted by Sys Rq at 6:01 PM on February 26, 2009 [1 favorite]

The shuffle in Toto's "Rosanna" is legendary.
posted by jquinby at 6:01 PM on February 26, 2009

Actually, for me, the song that springs to mind first is "When the Levee Breaks" sort of kind of by Led Zeppelin.
posted by ob at 6:02 PM on February 26, 2009 [1 favorite]

Take On All The World by Judas Priest. no question, hands down. total drum based anthem
posted by Redhush at 6:04 PM on February 26, 2009

Placebo Black Eyed is the one that sprang to mind from your question description thingummy.