What size Wacom tablet do I need?
February 19, 2009 3:24 PM   Subscribe

Do I want a wide aspect Wacom tablet, or should I go with the standard one?

I'm going to be getting a Wacom Intuous tablet, but I'm not sure which one I should get. I was thinking of getting the 6x8, but I have a wide monitor; a Syncmaster 2493hm displaying at 1920x1200. Should I go for the wide aspect 6x11 tablet? Will it even matter? If so, how?
posted by unreason to Computers & Internet (14 answers total) 1 user marked this as a favorite

What do you use it for?
posted by Optimus Chyme at 3:29 PM on February 19, 2009

I can't imagine getting a bigger one and wishing you had a smaller one, unless desk space is at a premium. Do you wish you had a smaller monitor?
posted by desjardins at 3:32 PM on February 19, 2009

My uneducated answer, based on this review - it can be helpful. I haven't used a tablet before, though I've lusted after them. My initial thought would be that they simply provide more input space, but there is also the fact that the input space is reflected on the screen. If you will be using the full screen, it may well be a good idea.

Ideally, you'd find a place to try them out. But I don't know any good resource for finding local distributors of tablets.
posted by filthy light thief at 3:32 PM on February 19, 2009

Match your monitor.

Typically your tablet will correspond 1:1 with your monitor -- a bit of wiggle in h/w ratio is fine, but the closer they are the more natural it'll feel.
posted by devbrain at 3:32 PM on February 19, 2009

Response by poster: Sorry, I should've said what I was using it for. I'm going to be doing some sketching and art with it. I'm not a pro, but I'd like to get a nice tablet and start doing some amateur stuff. I'd pretty much decided on the 6x8 Intuous as a good compromise between the low cost Bamboos at the ridiculously expensive models, when I noticed that they have a different tablet for wide aspects.