How to test silver items
February 16, 2009 8:33 PM   Subscribe

I want to test the silver content of some items. What should I buy? I see people offering silver testing kits on Ebay. Are these a good choice, or would I better off buying the reagents themselves? If so, which ones?
posted by Joe in Australia to Science & Nature (5 answers total)

Do you want to determine if there's silver present, or are you trying to figure out the percentage?
posted by Chocolate Pickle at 8:36 PM on February 16, 2009

The percentage.
posted by Joe in Australia at 8:53 PM on February 16, 2009

I am no expert, but I just took a look at eBay for those kinds of kits, and I think those were all qualitative, not quantitative. They'll tell you if silver is present and give you a general idea of whether there's a lot or just a little, but I think that's all they'll tell you.

A reliable quantitative test would either require spectroscopy, or a very accurate scale. I don't see how it could be done just using a few dropper bottles of magic solution.

Also, determining the percentage without spectroscopy would require using acid to dissolve a significant amount of the suspect metal (e.g. a gram or so) which would do violence to the object you were testing.
posted by Chocolate Pickle at 10:51 PM on February 16, 2009

Agreed- the testing kit surely can only tell if there is silver present, not how much or whether it's silver plated or pure silver.

What kind of items are they?

I can tell you this from experience, don't know if it will be helpful. Silver coins make a different sound when they are dropped. There is a sustained ringing sound, and its a slightly different pitch. Where a silver plated coin or a non silver coin has a much "deader" sound.

To find the percentage, you'd probably have to know what the other metals are. But you could probably ball-park it by finding out the volume of the thing, weighing it, and then doing some math on the mass of silver versus the mass of other metals.