Comparing Apples And Ubuntus.
February 16, 2009 2:16 PM   Subscribe

How does the Macbook Air with OS X compare to the Dell Mini 12 running XP or Ubuntu?

I've been buying Macs since 1994 and work exclusively with them, mostly because I'm a freelancer (thus, I work from home). I'd like to buy a netbook-ish laptop for surfing the web and writing on the go. This would be a secondary computer, so I don't need bells and whistles. I don't even need a CD/DVD drive.

I have poor vision, so I'm looking for one that's just a bit bigger than the 7 to 10 inch netbooks, but I'd still like it to be light and small. I'm thinking 13 inch screen max with a resolution no larger than 1280 X 800-ish.

That led me to the Macbook Air, refurbished, for $999, or a Dell Mini 12, which can be had for a lot less. Or, should I be looking at something else entirely? I fear the 10 inch Eee might be a bit too small of a screen.

How do they really compare?
Would I prefer Ubuntu to XP?
Is it worth it to spend more for the refurbished Air?

I'm having trouble comparing apples to apples since only one of them is, in fact, an Apple.
posted by 2oh1 to Computers & Internet (15 answers total) 1 user marked this as a favorite

I've been thinking about this kind of question a bit myself lately. One of the things that sets all of Apple's current laptops apart from many others is the build quality. The Air feels like a solid ingot. Also, IMO, it has that ineffable covet-inducing quality that emanates from Apple hardware.

Of course, you pay for that build quality, which gets at a key question: do you want to buy something cheap that you can regard as disposable, and not cry if it gets lost or destroyed. Or do you want to buy something solid, that will hold up to hard use a little better, but you also want to take better care of?