Material comforts on a budget?
January 17, 2009 3:44 PM   Subscribe

Small apartment management: What cheap supplies should a person in a 1.5 have as far as organizing, cleaning, pantry staples, etc...?

I'm a student in a 1.5 with hardwood floors and a ceramic tiled bathroom. I've already seen basic instructions on what not to buy (Don't buy a waffle iron! Scrimp on pots and pans! Save the good china for a wedding gift!), because I'm liable to be uprooted after my education's through and shipping costs money, but as far as cleaning supplies, kitchen goods, etc, while I tend to be frugal I'm not sure what the average dwelling space of this scale functions best with.

So, what are your must haves?
posted by Phalene to Home & Garden (20 answers total) 14 users marked this as a favorite

Clarification request: 1.5 what?
posted by Tomorrowful at 3:53 PM on January 17, 2009

1 full bath, and a half bath?
posted by woodway at 3:56 PM on January 17, 2009

In general, though: I got by fine with an all-purpose cleaner, some dusty-spray stuff, windex, and a bunch of rags. Recently I bought a Swiffer for my new hardwood floors, on the (correct, as it turns out) assumption that something wasteful and inefficient that actually gets used because it's so easy is better, in net, than something efficient and frugal that never gets touched.

Kitchen-wise, it obviously depends a lot on how much, and what, you cook. My own minimal set is just a medium frying pan (lid helps), a 4 quart (or so) pot, a small second pot with a good handle for sauces. Utensil-wise... everything for a first-apartment can be cheap if you don't really make great use of it, but small and easily transported items are reasonable places to make an early 'investment,' eg, non-crappy knives. All I ever really use are a small steak-type knife and a big chef's knife, with a couple of cheap wooden spoons, flippers, etc.