Small, Cheap, Plays WoW
January 9, 2009 4:03 PM   Subscribe

I'd like to buy my ~10 year old nephew a laptop to play World of Warcraft on. Smaller is better, cheaper is better.

I'm hoping that a netbook will work as it's just the right size for him but I can't find anything newer than a few years that gives a comprehensive answer.

I don't want him to be playing a slideshow but at the same time he doesn't need an alienware. I'm a sysadmin by trade so I'm not afraid of getting my hands dirty to e.g. top up the ram if it saves some cash.
posted by Skorgu to Computers & Internet (12 answers total) 1 user marked this as a favorite

WoW may not be all that demanding of a game, but nothing currently being dubbed a "netbook" has anything close to the video horsepower he'll need. (Also, sizewise, he'll probably be a good bit bigger over the next 3-4 years, so why limit yourself to undersized keyboards?)
posted by Tomorrowful at 4:09 PM on January 9, 2009

We bought a Dell Inspiron 1520 Laptop off Craigslist for our second WoW machine. Mr. Blandings had to tweak it (because it's a Vista machine) but it works just fine running WoW.
posted by crush-onastick at 4:20 PM on January 9, 2009

A quick Google search suggests that it may be playable on the recent crop of netbooks.
posted by qxntpqbbbqxl at 4:50 PM on January 9, 2009

The current crop of cheap netbooks (Asus EEPC, Aspire One, etc) all use roughly the same processor and video configuration. On my Aspire One, I get around 15FPS in World of Warcraft in Orgimmar. It's fast enough to do Auction House stuff, but I wouldn't consider it a "playable" framerate and certainly wouldn't want to raid with it.

Anything older in that form factor likely won't have enough horsepower to run even that fast.

Also, playing WoW on a 10" screen is an exercise in futility and probably a quick road to needing glasses.

I'd second the opinions on buying a used larger laptop.
posted by StickyC at 4:57 PM on January 9, 2009