Copy editing! Proofreading! Wow!
January 7, 2009 10:07 AM   Subscribe

Are copy editing and proofreading viable ways of supporting myself in a foreign country?

All things being relative, I should point out that for my purposes, foreign country = outside of North America.

I once read that various media outlets and advertisers often hire native English speakers to clean up any stylistic or grammatical fuck-ups in whatever writing they happen to produce. Is there any truth to this?

I graduated from college semi-recently. I'm attempting to travel, learn a language, and yes, Broaden My Horizons! But! I'll need a way to support myself while doing so. I'm only fluent in English. Other than that, I can speak some French, although I'm completely mediocre in that respect. I have a little bit of experience writing and editing, but not much. I was thinking of doing the English teaching thing, but certification is expensive and I doubt I'd be a great teacher.

SO: Is this an idea I should pursue? If so, how would I go about doing it?

Thanks.
posted by Lemon of Byzantium to Work & Money (6 answers total) 9 users marked this as a favorite

Based on my experience, the short answer is no. But please don't let that stop you from traveling, learning a language and broadening your horizons.

If you'd like a more nuanced answer, you're welcome to email/IM.
posted by veggieboy at 10:34 AM on January 7, 2009

The major employers of roving editors are newspapers, and nobody's hiring there these days, sorry.
posted by bonaldi at 10:44 AM on January 7, 2009

Sorry, this answer will be 100% European-centric, because that's where my own recent outside-North-America writing/editing job search was focused.