Emacs wizardry for the non-programmer.
December 30, 2008 9:37 AM   Subscribe

How can I automate emacs to open a file, execute a bunch of macros, then save the file in a new format?

I need to extract bookmarks from large PDFs into text files importable into MS Access. I have been using emacs to open the file, then used 5-6 macros to extract the bookmarks and format it properly to be imported into Access. This gets extremely tedious, I have about 100 files to convert.

Is there a more elegant or convenient way to do this? I would love to be able to automate it in emacs. I am not a programmer, and although I have tried to figure out how to do this with elisp, it just doesn't make sense to me. I'm running emacs 22.2.1 on Windows and Acrobat 6 and 7 standard.
posted by Barry B. Palindromer to Technology (5 answers total) 1 user marked this as a favorite

Best answer:
(setq list-of-file-names '("test-file" "test-file-two"....))

(defun do-something-to-file (file-name)
  (save-excursion
    (find-file file-name)
    (goto-char (point-min))
    (save-buffer)))

(mapc 'do-something-to-file list-of-file-names)

posted by rdr at 9:52 AM on December 30, 2008

Best answer: Or if you don't want to touch e-lisp, then you can automate this with a keyboard macro. Make a buffer that contains the names of the files that you wish to operate on with each file name on a different line. Start recording the keyboard macro with C-X (, move to the beginning of the current line, kill it, yank it, C-X C-F, yank, do whatever, write the result, return to list of files buffer, move to the next line. Once you've got the macro you run it 100 times by doing Meta - 1 0 0 C-X e. Backup up work before you start debugging.
posted by rdr at 10:18 AM on December 30, 2008

Best answer: See the Emacs Wiki for how to convert a macro to an elisp function and how to run it in batch mode.

This, in combination with rdr's hints should get you there.
posted by Zed at 1:25 PM on December 30, 2008