Wikify my math
December 25, 2008 7:22 PM   Subscribe

Should I be using a wiki to collect my notes on mathematical research? Which one?

I am a mathematician and I generate a lot of notes, thoughts, and computations. For many years, my method of gathering these was to write everything down under dated headings in a series of spiral notebooks, then index each notebook as it was finished. Drawback: my handwriting is really hard to read after a couple of years, and I often found it easier to work out something again from scratch than to try to follow the reasoning in my scribbled notes. Besides, since I work on a lot of projects at once, the notes relevant to project X might be scattered over various notebooks in hard-to-find ways.

For the last year or so, I've been LaTeXing short notes on various subjects; having a nice clean document makes it much easier to keep track of what I was trying to say, but now I have tons of .tex and .pdf documents on my hard drive and in order to find the one I want I often have to remember the filename -- or I just forget the document exists altogether.

It occured to me that the correct platform for what I really want to do might be some kind of a wiki, where the notes, .pdfs, links, etc. associated with a given project will stay "in one place," where I can easily link to or even include outside documents, and most importantly where I can easily locate all notes relevant to a given question.

Are any of you mathematicians or mathematical scientists who use a wiki in this way? Am I right to think this might be useful? And if so, which of the many options should I be thinking about? I'm a bit confused with Google Sites, PBWiki, Tiddlywiki, VoodooPad, instiki, and more all floating around offering what looks like substantially similar functions. Or should I just learn how to use Zotero or Google Desktop or Papers and tag the hell out of all my floating .pdfs?

Things I care about: