What are some good pda's for medicine and programs for them
December 10, 2008 9:20 PM   Subscribe

My sister is completing a course to become a paramedic and i really wanted to get her something special. She is asking for an EMS pocket field book. But I want to give her something more rigorous. I would like to get her an electronic one, like doctors use I would wholly appreciate suggestions as to which palm pilot or pocket pc or... and software I should buy.
posted by phllip.phillip to Health & Fitness (8 answers total)

She is asking for an EMS pocket field book. But I want to give her something more rigorous.

Not to second-guess your gift idea, but are you sure she wants an electronic version? Perhaps there's a reason she wants the hardcopy?
posted by jayder at 9:25 PM on December 10, 2008 [1 favorite]

As an EMT, I have to say that the paper guides are probably a better bet than anything electronic.

With a book you can easily look up a dosage or whatever without having to turn anything on, use a stylus, or type. Also, books are also a lot more durable, which matters when you're crawling into a wrecked car, getting puked on, etc. etc.

I highly recommend this book, but this one is more current and also oriented specifically towards paramedics.

If a book feels like too little, there are plenty of EMS related watches, plaques and so forth readily available online; just google EMS gifts.
posted by charmcityblues at 9:43 PM on December 10, 2008

ask her about fancy stethoscopes. My dad is a paramedic and he always uses his own personal one. They range in price from $10 to $200. The only personal electronic device I saw that was useful for them was his partners pill database on a palm pilot. So he could id peoples pills based on the colours/shape.
posted by Iax at 1:02 AM on December 11, 2008