As a retail customer, why is it rare to receive a thank you after completing a transaction?
December 7, 2008 10:52 PM   Subscribe

As a retail customer, why is it rare to receive a thank you after completing a transaction?

When I worked in retail a long time ago, we were trained to thank the customer after a sale.

It seemed like a simple thanks after a sale was standard part of customer service.

In recent years though, its rare to get a thank you. If anything its "have a good day" and often its indifference or outright rudeness.

Is it just me or do others see this too?
posted by jorlando to Shopping (36 answers total) 3 users marked this as a favorite

The monotony of retail jobs really wears on you. I imagine a lot of the workers are tired because their employers won't schedule enough people to work a shift (very often) and a lot of them just don't care (when I worked at Wal-Mart, people would just skip work because they knew they wouldn't get fired, the company needed the employees). Not that any of that is an excuse.
posted by DMan at 11:00 PM on December 7, 2008 [1 favorite]

It's tough work, the pay is low, and the workers are often inexperienced or, thanks to a booming economy (think anything prior to spring 2008), service industry workers are often the dregs of the lot.

North America has experienced full employment for almost fifteen years. The people motivated to say "thank you" have left Wal-Mart to do greater things.

I went to a McDonalds the other day and it was a disaster. The place was filthy, they had loud music blaring on a boombox, and I watched someone grab a chicken nugget out of the tray and eat it, and then make a McChicken. When I worked at McD's back in the late 80s, that entire scenario could never have happened, because jobs were scarce, at least for high school kids.

But why should people care when they're being paid minimum wage?