Does prestige matter? University of Illinois vs. Northern Illinois University
November 28, 2008 4:51 PM   Subscribe

Does prestige matter? University of Illinois vs. Northern Illinois University

I've applied and been accepted to both schools (Northern Illinois University & the University of Illinois-Urbana/Champaign). I'd like to pursue a undergraduate degree in Atmospheric Science or a closely related field. I have friends that attend both schools, and some have warned me that it would be harder to achieve better grades at U of I. I have since discovered that it also would be more difficult to obtain a higher GPA at U of I, given their hypomodal grading system (ie, A+ = 4.0, A = 3.8, A- = 3.7; versus NIU's A = 4.0, B = 3.0, etc.). I am a very good student, and have so far maintained a 4.0 GPA at my community college (and this is including several calculus courses).

So I guess my question is this: While I believe I would probably do better, and get better grades at NIU, would I still be better served to go to U of I, given the school's higher prestige as a research institution?
posted by capitalist.pig to Education (18 answers total)

U of I is the better choice, in my opinion. Prestige wins. An employer will look at the school you attended and judge you primarily by that; as long as you maintain a decent GPA at a good school, you're better off.

Oh, and get over that 4.0. It ain't going to stay unless you major in General Studies and graduate with an utterly worthless degree.
posted by sonic meat machine at 4:59 PM on November 28, 2008

Agreed that Illinois is a better school. NIU is underrated, however.
posted by Ironmouth at 5:00 PM on November 28, 2008

Another vote for UIUC. The prestige of the school you go to most definitely matters.
posted by peacheater at 5:03 PM on November 28, 2008