New situation regarding used stuff
November 28, 2008 3:55 PM   Subscribe

Please give me your tips for conducting a swap meet! This is for children's books, toys, and clothing only...

I'm helping to organize a swap meet for children's stuff (books, toys, and clothing) at my son's school. (I've previously asked another PTA question here). I have never done anything like this before and want to ensure it's as positive an experience as possible for the families.

We plan to set aside all of next week (Dec. 1-5) to accept contributions at the school, then use Dec. 8th and 9th to organize everything -- assess the quality, array clothing by size/gender, etc.). On the 10th, we will open the doors to all the families involved with the school to take what they'd like. We are not requiring that families drop off items in order to be able to shop for themselves. Also, right now we're not planning on limiting how much anyone can take -- is this incredibly naive, to not anticipate that someone may just come in and take off with half the inventory?

The social workers at the school do work closely with the families in greatest financial need, so I am anticipating that we will receive a number of wish lists from them for the neediest families that we can fulfill during the organizing period, before everything goes up for grabs. I have already personally gotten one request to set aside specific kinds items from a mom who knew she wouldn't be able to make it, and I am sure I will get more too.

I should add that this is being publicized as a social event, not a charitable one. But it is an opportunity to assist the school community's families most in need (above and beyond the school's own early childhood services) while letting everyone declutter a bit.