Can I print 800 pages of color comics inexpensively?
November 27, 2008 5:52 AM   Subscribe

I'm looking to print two copies of roughly 800 color pages for less than an arm and a leg. And there are a couple of other complications.

So I was trying to figure out what to get a friend of mine for Xmas when I hit upon the fact that she's read almost everything by Neil Gaiman, but that she won't have the opportunity to read Miracleman, as it's in a legal hell of copyright disputes. Luckily, that doesn't stop the internet from having it available.

So, I'd like to print and bind that into two or three books. So I'm wondering if I can do that at a Kinko's or similar place, or if the dubious legality of what I'd like to create means that I'd be better off not even asking around. Also, does anyone know how much a job like this would cost? I live in New York, so I'm used to things being pricey, but I'm a student, so I may have to scrap this if it gets to be too much.
posted by Hactar to Media & Arts (8 answers total) 2 users marked this as a favorite

I don't know about Kinko's, but most places I've worked which charge for color laser printing have priced it in the region of 25c a page single-sided, 48c a page double sided for letter-sized paper. At those rates 800 sides costs around $200.

"Print on demand" publisher lulu has a cost calculator that tells me 740 color pages, letter size paper, and binding, will cost $150.

There might be other cheaper options, I don't know about.
posted by Mike1024 at 6:17 AM on November 27, 2008

Depending on the resolution, would printing it 2-up (two pages per sheet) be feasible? That would cut your printing costs by half (or possibly a bit more, if you're doing two-sided printing)
posted by zippy at 7:04 AM on November 27, 2008

Have you thought of just getting a cheap printer and printing it yourself? You could probably get 800 pages on one cartridge and then take it to kinkos just to be bound.