Dream up the coolest pottery studio
November 25, 2008 11:34 AM   Subscribe

What would your dream pottery studio look like? Not one you'd build in your garage but a cool, full-service studio. Would it have...

Gas or Electric kilns?
Would you like to have smaller kilns to fire your own work?
Do you want to mix your own glazes or would you like vats of glaze provided?
Would you pay for clay that includes glazing and firing or is it better to separate those charges?
Would you want access to the studio 24/7?
Should it be open to both hobbyists and accomplished potters?
What kinds of classes and workshops would you attend?
What other things would make a pottery studio a great place?
posted by lois1950 to Sports, Hobbies, & Recreation (5 answers total) 1 user marked this as a favorite

I am a complete hobbyist, so the kiln questions are beyond me (I had it over, it gets fired).
I like vats of glazes, and I like really good representations of the glazes look like when fire, and when layered with other glazes (on chips or something).

I like both a flat fee for clay/glazing/firing for when I have the time to make new pieces, and a separate fee for when I just want to glaze some unfinished pieces, or fire some handbuilt pieces.

I like a mix of people at varying degrees of skill, but I can appreciate a time when beginners/novices can come together. I feel less pressure than when there are a lot of advanced people in the room.

Other things
Plenty of protected storage space for drying pieces, clay and tools. It's always been a challenge at other studios. And accidents happen.
posted by kimdog at 12:01 PM on November 25, 2008

Having been to three different studios in two years, here's my two cents:
Glazes- I would love to have glazes mixed, but with EVERY combination shown on each type of clay. It's a lot of work when you're starting out, but it's definitely worth it.