How do I ask my friends to model for me?
November 23, 2008 8:27 PM   Subscribe

How do I ask my friends to model for me without being a creepy creepster?

I have friends who would be interesting to photograph. How do I ask them to do this without being creepy? What about my other friends that I don't want to photograph? Will this cause resentment in my overlapping social circles?

I like everyone on the gender spectrum and am not monogamous, so I can't rely on that to keep the creep factor in check.

Also, can I get them to take off their clothes? Is that inappropriate for a platonic friend?

I am not a pro photographer nor do I have any artistic training, it's just an ongoing interest of mine.
posted by sondrialiac to Human Relations (18 answers total) 6 users marked this as a favorite

I would take a photography class to give some legitimacy to your pursuit. You may indeed be harmless but "I'm doing a project for school" is disarming. Once you've done it once, you can rely on the "I did it for a project and love it and think you'd be perfect" line to acquire more models.
posted by scabrous at 8:34 PM on November 23, 2008 [1 favorite]

I'm in a somewhat similar position - enthusiast amateur, no formal training.

If your friends are heavy facebook/twitter/etc users, that can be a good way to handle it - put out a general call, "hey, who wants to model for me?" You start with those whose responses you wanted in the first place - and, honestly, it's probably worth doing at least a short shoot even with the less-desired models; avoids drama, gives you practice, and you never know what'll turn out well.