I might be home for christmas...
October 27, 2008 10:30 AM   Subscribe

Should I use a credit card to buy a plane ticket home?

I'm a freshman in college about 5 states away from home. My girlfriend and I were hoping to go home this Christmas, but we don't have all of the money right now. We might be able to scrounge up the money for one ticket, but not for two. So we were thinking about opening a credit card with Wachovia to buy the tickets and pay them off the months after christmas.
I've never had a credit card before and I was kind of leery of getting one, but this is the only way I'd be able to go home for christmas. I think my emotions might be clouding my judgement, so:
What should I do? Is it a wise idea to buy the tickets with a credit card? If so, are there any cards you can reccomend?
posted by shesaysgo to Work & Money (31 answers total)

Don't use credit cards when you don't have the money to pay them back immediately, except in emergencies. This is not an emergency. Don't do it.
posted by grouse at 10:35 AM on October 27, 2008 [1 favorite]

One thing to consider: With the interest that you'll have to pay (you do know about the interest, right?) on top the the ticket, is it still worth it? Depending on the card, you might end up paying a lot more that you thought you might. Crunch some numbers.
posted by niles at 10:36 AM on October 27, 2008

Do you have any other way of paying for the ticket?

Generally it seems like opening a credit card as a student is a bad idea because debt can sneak up on you easily in that situation.
posted by BobbyDigital at 10:36 AM on October 27, 2008

As long as you have a good plan (on paper!) to pay it back (x) months after Christmas, this is not a bad idea. Be conscious of the monthly interest and factor that in, and be sure you can afford to pay it off on your plan, based on actual income. And once you have paid it off, do not use the card for anything else. Put it away for an emergency.