Career filter: Where do mid-career corporate newswriters go?
October 21, 2008 9:42 PM   Subscribe

I currently work as a “Writer” for a large Colossal News Network. While I enjoy writing enough, the extreme schedules, incessant acute deadlines, and sensational content (“watch this surveillance tape of someone getting beat up!”) are getting to me. I’m not sure how I can parlay my strengths/ experience into a more fulfilling career. (i.e. out of television) Generally speaking, what kind of options do I have that would fit?

more info:
I have kids, so I can’t “start all over” at something and- would like to have health benefits

Some info about me:
Myers Briggs: ENTJ (NJ “moderate/ ET “slight”)
(Frank, decisive, assume leadership, quickly see illogical & inefficient procedures/ policies/ develop & implement comprehensive systems to solve organizational problems. Usually well informed, well read, enjoy expanding knowledge and passing it to others. Forceful in presenting ideas.)

Strengthsfinder:
Intellection (IDEAS) gather info, generate theories, stimulate thinking, keep lists, build relationships with “big thinkers”
Achiever – (BUSY) doing what needs to be done now, living in/for the moment, produce results, self starter, “divine restlessness” stamina, discipline
Connectedness – (PEOPLE) open to ideas, look for/ find common ground, people before things, humble enough to look to others for answers, listener
Strategic (ISSUES) spot patterns/ issues/ trends/ problems, long term approach, spot “clues”, predict outcomes, create ways to proceed, issue spotting,
Input (INFORMATION) collect/archive info, map things out, think out loud, read/listen to info, find info, surf internet, open minded
posted by anonymous to Work & Money (8 answers total) 2 users marked this as a favorite