Where should I volunteer?
September 27, 2004 9:29 AM   Subscribe

I need to do a "Service Learning" project (aka volunteering) for a Political Science class this fall. The group that I work with must be political in nature, but I'm having a hard time thinking of something more interesting that working for a Presidential campaign, especially considering Illinois is anywhere near being a swing state. Any suggestions of groups that I could volunteer for?

Everyone here is aware of my political leanings, so Green Peace & Company are out of the question. Problem is I'm new to Illinois and don't know what groups are politically active here. Help!?
posted by Steve_at_Linnwood to Law & Government (8 answers total)

Sweet jesus how could you not take the opportunity to volunteer for the Keyes campaign and give us all an inside scoop. I mean, come on :)
posted by Space Coyote at 9:39 AM on September 27, 2004

How about giving the Libertarian party a hand? Right or Left, everyone can agree with libertarians somewhat on a lot of issues, they're always the outsider party, and I bet you could learn a lot about people by representing that group. I suspect many (esp. in a 50-50 tie election year) would give you a lot of grief for helping a third party, but a lot of others would tell you how much they would love to support the party, but can't.

I say sign on with them and whenever you have to write up your experiences for class, frame it as "the likelihood of the US embracing a third party is..." (just insert whatever you find during your tenure there).
posted by mathowie at 9:57 AM on September 27, 2004

How political does it have to be? You could case Idealist.org and see if you can find an organization that matches.

There are a number of organizations trying to address the problem of predatory lending, which I'd think is a somewhat non-partisan issue. You could look that direction.
posted by weston at 10:17 AM on September 27, 2004