How can I keep my dancing skills fresh over an extended absence?
October 18, 2008 10:28 AM   Subscribe

I have been learning to swing dance for almost a year now, and I have enjoyed it very much. However, I will soon be traveling for an extended period of time (over six months), and will not be able to continue with my classes or lessons during that time. What can I do to keep my skills from atrophying while I am away?

Additional, possibly relevant information: I dance West Coast swing, usually as a leader. When I do compete, it is still at the novice level, but I am not a raw beginner. I won't have a partner with me with whom I can practice, and I have not been able to find other clubs in the places where I will be traveling.
posted by philosophygeek to Sports, Hobbies, & Recreation (6 answers total)

Where are you going? I ask, because we did a bit of traveling this summer and were able to find our style of dancing (contra) in many many locations in the US. Maybe you just need to dig a little deeper?
posted by jvilter at 10:47 AM on October 18, 2008

Wherever you go, you can almost certainly find swing. I'm in South Korea and there's swing - not just West Coast, but lindy hop, shag, etc. etc. They've even learned some Shim Sham that I had never seen back in the states. The point might be to dig a little deeper, use Google a little more - and when in doubt hit up the local dance studio to learn what, where, and when things are going on.

On an unrelated note, teaching swing is a great way to keep the skills handy and used on a regular basis. It's also a great way to introduce yourself to that really cute person at the bar / grocery store / wherever. Best of luck =)
posted by chrisinseoul at 12:11 PM on October 18, 2008

Yehoodi is a great message board for questions like this.

New England's DanceNet is a pretty comprehensive list of dances in my own region. Almost anywhere you go, you can find a dance at least once a week.