What is so interesting about fragmented sentences?
September 15, 2004 12:08 PM   Subscribe

[grammarfilter] But what is so interesting about fragmented sentences?

I received this request as a comment on my site, "I am a college student who has been assigned to give a 10 minute presentation on fragmented sentences. Any ideas about how to liven it up?" and I've been mulling it over all day to no avail.

Are there any famous quotes that are sentence fragments? Funny anecdotes? Examples from other languages?

Or, basically, what would make fragmented sentences interesting to you?
posted by codger to Writing & Language (14 answers total)

Used, as well as remarked upon, in David Moser's "This Is the Title of This Story, Which Is Also Found Several Times in the Story Itself."
posted by DevilsAdvocate at 1:11 PM on September 15, 2004

She could liven it up by demonstrating that fragmented sentences are often the result of poor punctuation choices. This guide might give her some ideas. I think I might make this today's topic on my English language site :-)
posted by wackybrit at 1:23 PM on September 15, 2004

CORDELIA
Nothing, my lord.

KING LEAR
Nothing?

CORDELIA
Nothing.
posted by grumblebee at 1:52 PM on September 15, 2004

the definition itself is a good starting place. to what extent is a poorly constructed normal sentence a fragment? a word on its own is usually a fragment - but what about a portion of a word? etc. the term is really a jargon word that is useful to grammarians, editors etc. but not so precise to others. so if it's jargon, make the case why the general public would benefit from knowing its proper use.