How to learn enough math to impress a boy?
September 11, 2008 11:51 AM   Subscribe

I've just started dating someone who studies serious hardcore applied math. I am a complete and utter math idiot who is lost at anything above multiplication tables. I would like to sort of understand what is going on inside his massive, beautiful brain. Help?

I am a total visual/language-oriented dude (I edit comic books for a living) and what he does is, quite literally at times, rocket science. Obviously understanding each other's professional lives is not a prerequisite for chemistry, but I do look at this as an interesting challenge.

Clearly, I need books. Or something to study. What kind of texts can get somebody with almost no math knowledge up to at least a glancing familiarity with what's going in the more advanced mathematic principles? Obviously there would be some kind of "levelling up" I'd need to do here, but I just need to know where to start.

This thread was in a similar vein to what I'm getting at, but I'm looking for a somewhat specific course of study.
posted by logovisual to Science & Nature (33 answers total) 27 users marked this as a favorite

Read the Five Golden Rules. No study required.

Math theory is basically logic. If you focus on the principles you can understand the conversation that drives the calculation, that's pretty interesting without requiring much math.
posted by ewkpates at 12:01 PM on September 11, 2008

If you're interested enough in it to read up on it, why not ask him to explain it to you? Might be a good challenge/chance to grow for him.
posted by goethean at 12:02 PM on September 11, 2008

I find Larry Gonick's comic books to be a PERFECT "introduction to big hard topics" resource.