Football (soccer): if a player does a cautionable offence (or an offense that has been repeated enough times to warrant a caution), but it does not affect the run of play at all, can they still be given a yellow once the ball is out of play? Examples inside. [more inside]
posted by omnigut
on Apr 30, 2012 -
In association football (soccer), if a player commits a foul inside his own penalty box, does it always result in a penalty kick being awarded to the other team?
posted by WalterMitty
on Oct 30, 2010 -
Technical/pedantic football (soccer) question: In tonight's Albania v Holland Euro 2008 qualifier, six minutes of stoppage time was indicated, if I am not mistaken. However, the referee blew the final whistle after what I believe was less than 94 minutes, after a spectator threw fireworks at or near a player. This incident seemed to be the direct reason for the ref to call it a game. Given that according the Laws, the indicated stoppage time is a minimum, shouldn't this game technically be considered terminated or abandoned?
Bonus question: what exactly is the difference between a "terminated" and an "abandoned" game?
posted by goodnewsfortheinsane
on Sep 12, 2007 -