Football (soccer): if a player does a cautionable offence (or an offense that has been repeated enough times to warrant a caution), but it does not affect the run of play at all, can they still be given a yellow once the ball is out of play? Examples inside. [more inside]
posted by omnigut
on Apr 30, 2012 -
In association football (soccer), if a player commits a foul inside his own penalty box, does it always result in a penalty kick being awarded to the other team?
posted by WalterMitty
on Oct 30, 2010 -
American Football rules question: If the quarterback overthrows a pass to a receiver in the end zone and the ball bounces off the field goal post and is then caught by the receiver (the ball never hit the ground nor is the receiver out of bounds). Is the catch fair?
posted by analogue
on Feb 8, 2010 -
Is a recovered onside kick such as at the beginning of the 2nd half of tonight's Super Bowl when the ball is touched by the receiving team before it travels 10 yards but not recovered by them considered a turnover by the receiving team? [more inside]
posted by JohnnyGunn
on Feb 7, 2010 -
Technical/pedantic football (soccer) question: In tonight's Albania v Holland Euro 2008 qualifier, six minutes of stoppage time was indicated, if I am not mistaken. However, the referee blew the final whistle after what I believe was less than 94 minutes, after a spectator threw fireworks at or near a player. This incident seemed to be the direct reason for the ref to call it a game. Given that according the Laws, the indicated stoppage time is a minimum, shouldn't this game technically be considered terminated or abandoned?
Bonus question: what exactly is the difference between a "terminated" and an "abandoned" game?
posted by goodnewsfortheinsane
on Sep 12, 2007 -