Join 3,494 readers in helping fund MetaFilter (Hide)

142 posts tagged with reviews. (View popular tags)
Displaying 1 through 50 of 142. Subscribe:

Related tags:
+ (14)
+ (12)
+ (12)
+ (11)
+ (8)
+ (8)
+ (6)
+ (6)
+ (5)
+ (5)
+ (5)
+ (5)
+ (4)
+ (4)
+ (4)
+ (4)
+ (4)
+ (4)
+ (4)
+ (4)
+ (4)


Users that often use this tag:
Anonymous (3)
mecran01 (2)
sdis (2)
mr. creosote (2)
callmejay (2)
yankeefog (2)
pakora1 (2)
RapcityinBlue (2)

How do I search Amazon's database for keywords in editorial reviews

I want to aggregate certain reviewers and their reading tastes that are posted on Amazon.com. I only care about the professional "Editorial Reviews" and not the customer comments. So for example, if I want to read all the reviews attributed to say "Library Journal" or search out blurbs written by a certain author that blurbed a book, I can readily find it. [more inside]
posted by RapcityinBlue on Jul 1, 2014 - 2 answers

Shopping for new home and auto insurance

I'm working with an independent agent to purchase home and auto insurance. The agent has come back with a quote from Vermont Mutual, a company I'm not personally familiar with. Other than searching NAIC and AM Best, what are best practices for vetting an insurer? [more inside]
posted by Admiral Haddock on May 13, 2014 - 1 answer

How do I deal with my competitor's fake Google Plus reviews?

I own a small business and my competitors are writing up glowing reviews about themselves... [more inside]
posted by jacobean on Apr 29, 2014 - 4 answers

When should an author respond to reviews?

I'm an author. I've seen enough other authors flame out when responding to criticism that I know never to respond to negative reviews. But I'm sometimes tempted to respond to positive reviews of my book on Amazon, Goodreads, or other sites-- perhaps with a short "Thanks! I'm glad you enjoyed it;" perhaps with a longer reply if it seems appropriate. Should I ever do that? If so, when? [more inside]
posted by yankeefog on Jan 1, 2014 - 34 answers

What are the best sites for science fiction and fantasy book reviews?

I like reading reviews of books, both to learn about new things to read, and to gain insight on things I've already read. Right now, almost all the books I'm reading are science fiction and fantasy. What are the best, most comprehensive sites that review books in these genres? I'm looking for review quality above your standard Amazon reviews—not just rehashing the plot with "I liked it" or "I didn't like it", but thoughtful, high quality analysis.
posted by ocherdraco on Sep 24, 2013 - 8 answers

Soliciting Angie's List reviews?

I've updated my Angie's List listing. I have no reviews as of yet, although I've been in business since 2005. Is it ethical to solicit reviews from clients? I'm thinking of sending an email saying something like, "I'm now on Angies's List. Feel free to write a review, should you wish. Here's the link." Nothing begging or hat-in-hand, of course. What's the protocol? Is there a protocol?
posted by BostonTerrier on Aug 21, 2013 - 13 answers

Is anybody doing good sci fi/fantasy/horror book reviews?

I used to really enjoy the reviews at an old website called Inchoatus, their focus was sci fi. But they went dark a long time ago. So are there any decent independent sites doing thoughtful, in-depth (and, sure, snarky) reviews of sci fi and horror (I'm less interested in fantasy, though I understand that it's part of the whole thing) books these days?
posted by turbid dahlia on Aug 18, 2013 - 5 answers

Captain's Podcast: Supplemental

Looking for recommendations/comparisons of the best Star Trek podcasts, particularly those that have reviewed most or all of the Next Generation episodes. [more inside]
posted by TheSecretDecoderRing on Aug 13, 2013 - 1 answer

How do I search for books that have been blurbed by certain authors?

I'm a fan of certain authors, critics, and academics whose taste and sensibilities are similar to my own. I'm currently looking for a way to search for books based on the blurbs or editiorial reviews about them from authors that I admire and trust. Example: 1. Philip Roth's recent assessment of Jonathan Franken's writing was prominently blazed on the latter's most recent book. 2. Warren Buffett has referred to Dale Carnegie's book "How to Win Friends and Influence People" as one of the few books that changed his life. 3. Charlie Munger, Buffett's partner in arms, referred to John Cialdini's book on influence as one having a permanent influence on his thinking on that topic. 4. Harold Bloom, the critic, has impressive recommendations on Henri Cole's newest volume of verse. Is there a database that I can use to help me scour who's been recommending what and how. Thanks
posted by RapcityinBlue on Jul 12, 2013 - 3 answers

Looking for a quote about Mary Shelley and travel writing.

Who wrote something like "all great writing is travel writing and Mary Shelley was the best travel writer"? I think I read this on the Internet in the last 10 years, written by a currently living book reviewer. I'd like to read the article again. It was an article about the importance of travel writing.
posted by cda on Jun 26, 2013 - 2 answers

I would like to have a collection of Dan Neil's fascinating auto reviews

Dan Neil wrote for the Raleigh News and Observer years ago (the 90s?), turning automobile review columns into art both surreal and life-affirming. I loved it, even though I hate cars. I want to buy a book of some of his reviews from that era, but I don't think it exists. Any ideas on how I could get some of his writings from that era? [more inside]
posted by amtho on Jun 5, 2013 - 3 answers

Who should I send early copies of my book to?

I'm writing a book about language learning and the science of memory for a major publisher. We're a couple months away from sending galley copies around to various people for blurbs and reviews, and they've asked me for input as to who might be interested. So! Who should read this thing? Name some people who, if you saw their name on the back of a science-y book on language learning and memory, you'd buy it.
posted by sdis on May 4, 2013 - 20 answers

Good Media Catalog App for Iphone

When I finish a book or a movie, I like to write down my thoughts about it, and I'm looking for an iPhone app to organize my reading and watching notes. My particular picky bookworm/filmgeek requirements inside. [more inside]
posted by yankeefog on Apr 23, 2013 - 6 answers

Eldon faction against Canning party*

What would be the book to read to understand the intellectual climate of the first decades of the 19th century in England? [more inside]
posted by Marauding Ennui on Apr 3, 2013 - 4 answers

I have opinions, where should I put them?

For the last few years, I have reviewed every book I read on Goodreads, just for my own edification. I read a lot. I have written a lot. Is there a better use to put this content to? [more inside]
posted by restless_nomad on Mar 16, 2013 - 25 answers

Guilt over writing bad online reviews or using coupons?

Do you ever feel bad about writing bad online reviews or using coupons? Am I ridiculous for even worrying about it? More below. [more inside]
posted by AppleTurnover on Mar 14, 2013 - 42 answers

Microsoft employee (fte) question

Curious if anyone is/was from Microsoft, I had an employee based question. [more inside]
posted by pakora1 on Feb 19, 2013 - 5 answers

Help me, and my team, strengthen our non-fiction writing skills

I lead a team of podcasters. They're all great people--intelligent, articulate, and very good speakers. We now wish to translate our spoken success to the page, and our early attempts have shown that despite the successes we have as speakers we're finding our writing skill (specifically in regards to concise, clear, engaging, and personable communication through the written word) is in need of honing. I need suggestions how to do that. [more inside]
posted by arniec on Feb 4, 2013 - 4 answers

A British A.V. Club?

I'm an American who loves British television but am tired of discovering shows only after they have finished. Is there a UK-centric equivalent of The A.V. Club—i.e., a site that covers currently airing British television series?
posted by kaisemic on Feb 3, 2013 - 3 answers

Where can you find reliable Android reviews?

Where are there reliable Android reviews for both applications and games? Metacritic does not yet have an aggregator for Android and Play Store ratings are of little use. So what is recommended? [more inside]
posted by sien on Jan 24, 2013 - 4 answers

Finding helpful car reviews that don't assume I'm a racer

What resources are available to accurately assess a car or truck's performance in specific situations? I'm interested in knowing how different makes and models stack up in stop-and-go traffic or poorly-maintained roads, and it seems every review site ignores or spends little time on situations like these. [more inside]
posted by CancerMan on Jan 18, 2013 - 7 answers

How to find scraped product reviews on my own sites.

I work on a number of e-commerce websites. Of the ~6000 product reviews we have, a healthy percentage of them were manually scraped from other sites before my time. However, there is no indication and no log of which ones were scraped. [more inside]
posted by anonymous on Jan 10, 2013 - 1 answer

Will I regret buying a cotton hoodie from this retailer?

Have you ever purchased anything from Rawganique? If so, what was the experience like? [more inside]
posted by sardonyx on Dec 9, 2012 - 6 answers

Might as well have the best.

You've done the research; what's the best? [more inside]
posted by sportbucket on Nov 8, 2012 - 46 answers

Does [Insert name here] write book blurbs? If so, for which books?

Is there a book blurb search engine, or something that will let me see if someone has ever written a book blurb, and what it was? (Or some clever way of googling Amazon's Editorial Reviews sections) [more inside]
posted by sdis on Oct 11, 2012 - 3 answers

Rotten Tomatoes for Jazz?

I'm buying CDs for a friend to fill in his jazz collection. What are good online resources to help me pick the best discs? [more inside]
posted by kristi on Oct 9, 2012 - 9 answers

Dishwasher recommendations

Looking for a good dishwasher, stumped by all the weird reviews. [more inside]
posted by pakora1 on Jul 23, 2012 - 36 answers

Contextual book review sites?

Another question about book review sites: I've seen the other questions here about a rottentomatoes-type site for book reviews, but they're a few years old. Has anything changed lately? [more inside]
posted by clone boulevard on Jul 4, 2012 - 5 answers

record producers' reviews

Where can I read music producers' opinions of the production value of specific albums/tracks? [more inside]
posted by mateuslee on Feb 7, 2012 - 8 answers

Does Ben Sherman make quality shoes?

I'm thinking about buying a pair of Ben Sherman Manchester boots on super sale from JackThreads, but I'm concerned they'll just be another pair of cheap Chinese-made shoes and a waste of a hundred bucks. Anybody have experience with recently made Ben Sherman shoes in general or this model specifically? Alternatively, if you have good experiences with black, mid-calf (10-12 eyelet) boots, I'd like to hear those, too.
posted by maniactown on Jan 22, 2012 - 8 answers

Is my doctor astroturfing his online reviews?

I have a consultation with a plastic surgeon in NYC to talk about tattoo removal next week. I made the appointment based on unanimously glowing reviews posted online. Now, reading through the reviews again, I've been struck by certain details that make me wonder if these comments are mostly an astroturfing campaign. I've been waiting awhile for my appointment, so I don't want to cancel if I'm just being paranoid. Help me out, Mefi Sleuths. [more inside]
posted by specialfriend on Nov 16, 2011 - 13 answers

Looking for a site that reviews ebooks and not just books.

Could anyone recommend a site that reviews ebooks not just on the merits of their content, but on how well they're presented? [more inside]
posted by dumbland on Nov 7, 2011 - 4 answers

YelpFilter, literally

My hairstylist asked me to post a review about her on Yelp. I created an account and posted my (100% genuine and not offered in exchange for any consideration) opinion that she's fabulous. Yelp has filtered (i.e., hidden) the review. Is there anything I can do to convince them of my sincerity? [more inside]
posted by Horace Rumpole on Nov 6, 2011 - 9 answers

MovieFilter? Where can I find intelligent discussion about movies and t.v.?

Where can I find intelligent writing or discussion about movies and t.v. shows? [more inside]
posted by callmejay on Oct 29, 2011 - 24 answers

Can someone recommend some reliable web sites where I can check reviews for Doctor's in my Area (NJ)?

Can someone recommend some reliable web sites where I can check reviews for Doctor's in my Area (NJ)? I know there are a ton of sites but I don’t know which ones are reliable I live in NJ Also somebody recommended yelp in one of the other posts here but a quick search there did not reveal any result with more than 1 review for my area. Also, there were only few practices with reviews. Basically I just want to find out a little bit more about the doctor before I visit him / her. Any suggestions?
posted by r2d2 on Oct 8, 2011 - 5 answers

Funny, prolific Amazon reviewer from mid-`00s?

Who is the Amazon reviewer who posted a corpus of very funny, very weird reviews? As the reviews accumulated, he would reveal occasional bits of his "real" life. This would have been in the mid-2000s, I think. My Google skills are letting me down sorely.
posted by everichon on Aug 29, 2011 - 8 answers

Help me with an online ratings system

How to improve an online rating system. [more inside]
posted by Bunny Ultramod on Aug 15, 2011 - 4 answers

Tuxedo rental in Philly

Help me find rent a tuxedo in Philly! [more inside]
posted by Aanidaani on Mar 6, 2011 - 3 answers

Online Apartment Reviews Worthless or Not?

Are online apartment reviews reliable? Or does the voluntary response effect make them worthless? [more inside]
posted by mnemonic on Mar 5, 2011 - 14 answers

How to approach a job review when I'm likely to leave the company?

How do I handle a performance review when I'm likely to leave the company in the next month or so? [more inside]
posted by designmartini on Feb 23, 2011 - 9 answers

Just what the hell is this thing, anyway?

McSweeny's. Explain. [more inside]
posted by SLC Mom on Dec 23, 2010 - 19 answers

Footnotes just don't work in an Audio Book

I really like discovering new books through book reviews in newspapers (New York Review of Books, New Yorker, and NY Times, mainly) and from some book blogs I read. But what are good sources of reviews of audio books? [more inside]
posted by bluefly on Dec 22, 2010 - 10 answers

Snowblower recommendations and advice?

I live in upstate New York. I need to buy a new snowblower and I'm looking for recommendations. It appears that nearly every snowblower, regardless of the brand, is now made by MTD and I have some serious concerns about their quality because of the large number of plastic parts and the thin metal they use. I'd like to know if my concerns are valid and what brands are made by other manufacturers. I've heard that Honda makes a phenomenal snowblower but I'm not sure I can afford $3000 or more. [more inside]
posted by 14580 on Dec 6, 2010 - 10 answers

Looking for HDTV recommendationsr

Looking for 46" HDTV recommendations. [more inside]
posted by sah on Nov 14, 2010 - 10 answers

Looking for career website benchmark reports

Where can I find benchmark reports and general best practices about company career websites? [more inside]
posted by lord_yo on Nov 8, 2010 - 1 answer

Not the critic who counts, but the counter of critics

Replacements for metacritic? [more inside]
posted by smoke on Oct 8, 2010 - 6 answers

The Apollinaire of the Xbox

How do I become an avant-garde video game reviewer? [more inside]
posted by cmoj on Sep 21, 2010 - 9 answers

How to entice restaurant reviewers?

How do you entice newspaper/magazine/blog writers into reviewing a restaurant? [more inside]
posted by paradoxflow on Aug 25, 2010 - 13 answers

How do I vet a rest home by remote?

I have to put my mother into a care facility (and wow, they're expensive!). How do I thoroughly check out whether or not one will be good for her before allowing my mother anywhere near the place? I live about 2 hours away and plan to check it out but want to do as much legwork as I can beforehand. Thanks for the help.
posted by miss lynnster on Aug 23, 2010 - 17 answers

What's the best place for a Fantasy Football League?

What's the best site to manage a custom NFL fantasy football league? There are a ton of options, but teh google failed me in finding a comprehensive site that evaluates all the systems out there. Most reviews I did find were old. Anyone have any suggestions?
posted by impolitic on Aug 10, 2010 - 2 answers

Page: 1 2 3