Skip

131 posts tagged with review.
Displaying 1 through 50 of 131. Subscribe:

Recommend an iPad kanji writing flashcard app or JP app review site?

Does anyone have any suggestions for a flashcard app for iPad for practicing *writing* kanji? Or any recommendations for Japanese review sites for iOS apps? [more inside]
posted by Bugbread on Jul 31, 2014 - 12 answers

Suggestions on Where to Submit a Non-Game iPhone App for Review

I've recently created an iPhone app that's not a game, but falls more in the "Entertainment" category (it uses Twitter to predict the future). And I'm not sure where I should try to send it for review/exposure, as most review sites are game-oriented. I've tried the usual suspects (MeFi Projects, submitted to BoingBoing, shared on FB and Twitter), but am surprised at how quickly I'm running out of ideas for places to send this guy to. [more inside]
posted by avoision on Jun 27, 2014 - 7 answers

Literature review hacks, please!

I'm in grad school and am writing a literature review as part of my capstone project. I have done a lot of initial research and have created awesome annotated bibliographies - it's just not enough, though. [more inside]
posted by WaspEnterprises on Apr 16, 2014 - 4 answers

Looking for the worst of the worst.

I was surprised to discover that there is no way to sort an Amazon search or browse within a category by user review--more specifically from lowest to highest. Is there a workaround for this? Or perhaps an app or script I could use? Or even a third party site that sorts it for you? I'm mostly interested in being able to browse a category and see the lowest ranked items, but I'd settle for ranked search results also.
posted by sourwookie on Apr 13, 2014 - 8 answers

Gadget review in the form of short dystopian scifi

Help me find an online review that someone wrote several years ago, reviewing a data-erasing gadget by writing a piece of dystopian fiction in which the user needs to use the device in a hurry. [more inside]
posted by brainwane on Mar 13, 2014 - 1 answer

Tenure and promotion letters for college faculty

Academics, what is your institution's policy about tenure and promotion letters? Specifically, once the decision to award or deny tenure is made, does a candidate standardly get a letter detailing the committee's reasons? What is the letter like and who reviews it? Looking also for pointers to faculty handbooks where the letter process is described, and links to policies/recommendations from professional associations like AAUP or MLA on this. [more inside]
posted by anonymous on Feb 26, 2014 - 12 answers

Word 2010 lumping together comments and edits from different reviewers

I created a document in Word 2010 and I am sharing it with two reviewers. When I turn on Track Changes, I can see my edits in one color, and my comments display my initials. But when the reviewers add their edits and comments and send it back to me, their comments end up the same color, and all comments, including mine, are now marked A# (A1, A2, A3). I can't see where my comments end and theirs begin. [more inside]
posted by wexford_arts on Feb 24, 2014 - 9 answers

Another Okcupid profile review.

Just started a new account. Maybe you guys can help me out? [more inside]
posted by MeaninglessMisfortune on Jan 4, 2014 - 22 answers

Missing Link: Overdrive Edition

Can you help me find a lost link to an awesome guitar-nerdy overdrive review site? [more inside]
posted by j_curiouser on Dec 24, 2013 - 3 answers

Hairbrush recommendations, please!

I have thick, between wavy and curly, longish hair that comes to about mid-upper-arm. I have used the same plastic cushion brush for over a decade (yes, I wash it) and have been fine with it. I recently read about ionic and ceramic brushes and am curious: is there a demonstrably better brush for my type of hair? [more inside]
posted by vegartanipla on Dec 2, 2013 - 14 answers

Get rid of review panel in word on mac?

I know this must be very obvious, but I can't figure it. How do I totally and permanently get rid of the review panel (and all inserted comments) on a word document on a mac? Word is 14.1.2. I've tried nearly everything, and each time the review panel comes back again. I manually deleted all the comments but there is still the lavender review panel on the right. THANKS!!
posted by third rail on Oct 30, 2013 - 7 answers

Why is this lawyer charging me again?

I recently met with a lawyer to get a document reviewed. I had sent him my document that morning to look over before we met. At the end of our meeting he said once I had put in his suggested changes I could send him the document and he'd look over it again. His charge was $60, which I immediately paid. About a week later I sent him the document with his changes incorporated to look over again. If it matters, I had added a clause of maybe three sentences to the document that wasn't in the first version. I've now received another invoice for $60 from the lawyer, charging me for a second review. I didn't expect to get billed again since he was the one who offered to look at it again. Is he justified in billing me for a second review? What should I do if he's not justified?
posted by lillian.elmtree on Sep 23, 2013 - 24 answers

Are you my Mama?

I (think I feel like I remember that I) read a spoiler filled review of the movie Mama (2013) but cannot find it anywhere. [more inside]
posted by J0 on Aug 22, 2013 - 1 answer

Video game editorial outlets!

I've finished my video game, now I want to publicize it. I've sent news releases to about fifty sites in the appropriate format and with review codes where needed, but i am sure i have missed some. Like YouTube people and pod casters? Who else? [more inside]
posted by seanmpuckett on Jul 26, 2013 - 5 answers

I suck. How do I live with that?

I recently finished a lengthy project. I thought I did really well, and nothing indicated during the process that there was anything wrong. But I just got my review and it was poor. I feel like dying. Basically, when you've really fucked up and got no-one else to blame for it than your own incompetence, how do you shake it off and go on with your life? [more inside]
posted by anonymous on Mar 15, 2013 - 48 answers

ADHD & Graduate studies

I have (late-diagnosed) ADHD & I've just become a graduate student. I'm medicated, and under the care of professionals. This question is about best methodologies in graduate studies, particularly in remembering research I've read. [more inside]
posted by b33j on Mar 12, 2013 - 9 answers

Best-ever software reviews

What are the best software reviews you've ever read? [more inside]
posted by John Raskolnikov Gilson on Mar 2, 2013 - 5 answers

Microsoft employee (fte) question

Curious if anyone is/was from Microsoft, I had an employee based question. [more inside]
posted by pakora1 on Feb 19, 2013 - 5 answers

How to find enterprise software reviews, or Enterprise software.

Does anyone have a good way to filter out the best enterprise software products? I am looking for an enterprise software deployment tool and cant seem to google product reviews without someones inadvertant, or advertant twist on the product. Dont want a websearch. Came here hoping to hopefully find an answer(s). Thanks
posted by aceplanet on Feb 14, 2013 - 7 answers

Looking for a specific description of John Bonham's drumming

I once read a paragraph-or-so-long review of a Led Zeppelin song that I'm almost completely sure is "When The Levee Breaks" that talks about why it's so incredible from the very first drumbeat, how it has a heavy sound and comes in behind the beat. I'm trying to find it. [more inside]
posted by capricorn on Feb 11, 2013 - 7 answers

What can I use to accompany a movie review?

I am writing a book of movie reviews. Hoping to sell to publishers but may self-publish. My question is about image use for the movies. [more inside]
posted by arniec on Nov 29, 2012 - 5 answers

How do I review my manager without repercussions.

How honest can I afford to be in my upward manager review when he will know instantly that it's me? I have real issues to address but fear repercussions. And yes, it's supposedly anonymous. [more inside]
posted by Toto_tot on Oct 29, 2012 - 26 answers

Professor, isn't it time for your nap?

You’re an academic, and every now and then, often on short notice, you’ve got to put together an application which includes your papers, your grants, your service (and so on) and it’s in a different format and order to the last time. Would you pay someone to keep track of this stuff AND format your application/review? What do you need them to keep track of? Tell me more. What do you want?
posted by b33j on Oct 14, 2012 - 18 answers

Dark & Stormy Night, Bro!

How to critique 'bad' writing? [more inside]
posted by Chorus on Oct 10, 2012 - 33 answers

Civilian Review Committees for Federal Employee Decisions

How does the idea of a civilian review board for previewing the firing and disciplinary actions of federal managers against civilian employees sound? [more inside]
posted by CollectiveMind on Sep 7, 2012 - 7 answers

Looking for a variety of good music criticism

Crowdsource my syllabus: I'm looking for the best relatively short music review essays, in a wide variety of writing styles and formats. [more inside]
posted by bahngerama on Aug 28, 2012 - 16 answers

What's the best mobile/iPhone headset mic out there?

All iPhone / mobile headphone reviews go into (sometimes) excruciating detail about the sound qualities and quality of the headset, but I've found very few that actually talk about the mic quality. So I ask: are there candidates for "best mic"?
posted by theNonsuch on May 15, 2012 - 3 answers

I'm sorry, I can't recommend your product.

How do I politely tell a company that I didn't like their product and don't want to review it? [more inside]
posted by joyeuxamelie on Apr 20, 2012 - 34 answers

Annual job review problem.

Please help me raise my concerns yet not dig myself into a hole. How do I word my annual job review? [more inside]
posted by anonymous on Apr 10, 2012 - 7 answers

The case of the missing curated recommendations

I like mysteries. I don't have a good way of finding new ones. What are some blogs that review mysteries? [more inside]
posted by jeather on Mar 8, 2012 - 10 answers

First time interview with local business owner, what to ask and how to do it.

I was told last minute that I was doing an interview with a small local business owner (a new bar in a college town). I am not from a journalism background, and need some advice. See below the cut. [more inside]
posted by hillabeans on Feb 23, 2012 - 4 answers

Could Yelp be made useful?

My experience using Yelp is that it increasingly sucks. Highly reviewed places can range from decent to abysmal and there is no telling. But one can find some reviewers who seem consistently accurate, and while yelp allows you to follow these folks, it would be much easier if you could FILTER with these folks , but Yelp seems not to want that to happen, for obvious commercial reasons. Could someone develop some way to do that on top of the web site? And if Yelp is unusable for quality reviews, besides CH where else do folks recommend? THanks!
posted by dougiedd on Jan 29, 2012 - 16 answers

Trusted reviews of Doctor and Mechanics.. Not Angie's List

Do you have a go to place for getting trusted reviews for service related occupations like doctors, dentists and mechanics? Angie's list is paid, free is preferable
posted by radsqd on Jan 4, 2012 - 5 answers

How Do I Cram for a German Placement Test?

How do I shake off the rust and review four years of German language and grammar in a short time period? [more inside]
posted by Atarah on Dec 29, 2011 - 6 answers

Help us figure out the title of this awkwardly named book

My wife is going nuts trying to remember the name of a book she heard reviewed a few years ago. [more inside]
posted by unintelligentlydesigned on Dec 26, 2011 - 2 answers

Annual review advice?

It's annual review season! Looking for some guidance on getting through, with a few parameters inside. [more inside]
posted by 5845(f)(1)(D) on Dec 5, 2011 - 5 answers

I'm looking for the most bestest iPhone apps

What software or web app will sort iPhone apps by the number of reviews the app has received (and show me those apps that have received the highest number of positive reviews)? [more inside]
posted by segatakai on Oct 29, 2011 - 5 answers

Help me with an online ratings system

How to improve an online rating system. [more inside]
posted by Bunny Ultramod on Aug 15, 2011 - 4 answers

How to disappear completely.

How do I make MS Word (2008, for Mac) actually remove the author information when I save a document as a pdf? I am submitting a paper for blind review but can't expunge the author info. [more inside]
posted by Beardman on Aug 15, 2011 - 12 answers

Please recommend good value in a ruggedized point-and-shoot camera

Recommendations please! What is the current sweet spot, value-wise, for a "ruggedized" point-and-shoot camera? [more inside]
posted by Alaska Jack on Jul 4, 2011 - 4 answers

Help me raise the bar on my negotiating skills.

About a year ago, I started working for a company. I was unemployed at the time, and did a poor job of negotiating my wage, because I needed the work desperately. Now I do a ton for the company, and have become an integral part of their day-to-day operations. How should I go about asking for a (rather significant) raise? [more inside]
posted by anonymous on Jun 28, 2011 - 10 answers

like a letter of reference, for me to read, focusing on my faults

Manager-filter: how to ask for an unsealed, mostly critical, written review for my own reading? I'm starting to leave my current (part-time, student) job. One thing I'd like to get before I go is my boss's honest opinion of everything I did right and (especially) everything I did wrong or could do better. This is not meant to be a letter of reference; I want permission to read it and I want him to focus on how I could improve. How do I ask for this? [more inside]
posted by d. z. wang on Mar 29, 2011 - 16 answers

Where can I get recommendations for the 'greenest' house cleaners and personal care products?

Where can I get recommendations for the 'greenest' house cleaners and personal care products? [more inside]
posted by lemonade on Feb 14, 2011 - 7 answers

What's the best waterproof camera?

Looking for a good waterproof camera, and confused by conflicting reviews online. [more inside]
posted by twirlypen on Jan 9, 2011 - 9 answers

Help me find a great webpage for literary reviews.

I'm looking for a good website for literary reviews. My dream webpage would be something like an IMDB for books, with ratings, reviews, genre listings, and author information. Does such a thing exist? Are there any really good blogs for literature reviews? Thanks in advance.
posted by Stagger Lee on Jan 4, 2011 - 10 answers

Where Can I Get My Site Ripped Apart?

I want to make my site better. Where do I go to ask about that? [more inside]
posted by theichibun on Dec 13, 2010 - 6 answers

Help figuring out this novel by a poet that just came out

Help figuring out this novel by a poet that just came out [more inside]
posted by jng on Nov 8, 2010 - 6 answers

Good questions for peer reviews.

Looking for good questions to include on job performance peer-review forms. Co-workers giving feedback about their co-workers, in other words (i.e.:"How does this person best contribute to the organization?" "Does this person complete tasks in a timely manner?" but better).
posted by Framer on Oct 29, 2010 - 3 answers

To quote or not to quote (an email)

I'm considering writing a critical review of a popular online service - what are the ethics regarding the quoting or summarizing of email messages? [more inside]
posted by syzygy on Oct 26, 2010 - 13 answers

Recommend some review software for a HTML website?

Recommend some review software for a HTML website? [more inside]
posted by jacobean on Oct 3, 2010 - 4 answers

Page: 1 2 3
Posts