Join 3,552 readers in helping fund MetaFilter (Hide)

11 posts tagged with recommendations and reviews. (View popular tags)
Displaying 1 through 11 of 11. Subscribe:

Footnotes just don't work in an Audio Book

I really like discovering new books through book reviews in newspapers (New York Review of Books, New Yorker, and NY Times, mainly) and from some book blogs I read. But what are good sources of reviews of audio books? [more inside]
posted by bluefly on Dec 22, 2010 - 10 answers

Snowblower recommendations and advice?

I live in upstate New York. I need to buy a new snowblower and I'm looking for recommendations. It appears that nearly every snowblower, regardless of the brand, is now made by MTD and I have some serious concerns about their quality because of the large number of plastic parts and the thin metal they use. I'd like to know if my concerns are valid and what brands are made by other manufacturers. I've heard that Honda makes a phenomenal snowblower but I'm not sure I can afford $3000 or more. [more inside]
posted by 14580 on Dec 6, 2010 - 10 answers

Looking for HDTV recommendationsr

Looking for 46" HDTV recommendations. [more inside]
posted by sah on Nov 14, 2010 - 10 answers

Best perfume selection in US department stores?

What US department store -- besides Sephora -- has the best [widest?] selection of perfume? Bonus points if they will give samples -- I don't like to buy something without wearing it for a day first. [more inside]
posted by fiercecupcake on Jul 30, 2010 - 15 answers

Release the Stars!

Where might I find a list of Publishers Weekly's starred reviews? [more inside]
posted by mrhaydel on Jun 2, 2009 - 4 answers

Help me research a new bike

My bike just broke spectacularly, while I was riding it. I want to research getting a good, new hybrid bike for city riding. Can anyone recommend good websites for research? [more inside]
posted by thelost on Dec 24, 2008 - 15 answers

Off the shelf HTPC recommendations?

Does anyone have any recommendations on off-the-shelf WMC HTPCs? I've been searching high and low, and virtually all the information on the intertubes seems to be about building HTPCs. I know that's the more cost-effective route, but I just don't have the time. Here's what I'm itchin' for: [more inside]
posted by MaxVonCretin on Jun 19, 2008 - 4 answers

Classical music recommendation site with just the right touch

Name some good online sources for recommendations and also reviews of recorded performances of classical music. [more inside]
posted by Gyan on Aug 2, 2007 - 4 answers

Favorite wines under $20?

What are your favorite wines under $20?
posted by callmejay on Jun 15, 2006 - 53 answers

Webzines (besides Pitchfork) that cover underground music well?

I read Pitchfork every day for their pretentious (yet current) album and single reviews, as well as their often well put together special editions (such as the current year-end edition). My question is this: are there any other webzines that cover underground music to the same extent that are worth a daily visit?
posted by Quartermass on Dec 22, 2003 - 11 answers

Is The Rabbit wine opener any good?

So I've been struggling with the christmas present issue - What to get for my parents? I've decided on a Rabbit wine opener, but it has mixed reviews. Does anyone have this device or an equivalent wine tool?
posted by elwoodwiles on Dec 15, 2003 - 19 answers

Page: 1