Join 3,414 readers in helping fund MetaFilter (Hide)

12 posts tagged with peerreview. (View popular tags)
Displaying 1 through 12 of 12. Subscribe:

"Peer" Review

I have a very strong amateur interest in a niche subject (the history of computational labor processes). I think have a somewhat novel idea for research that builds on ideas that seem to be gaining currency in journals like Technology and Culture. I'm not an academic, and have very little academic background. What should I know if I decide to prepare an article for submission to a peer reviewed journal for the first time? [more inside]
posted by wobdev on Apr 28, 2014 - 7 answers

How best to respond to anti-science, nonsense-loving folk.

What are some good, persuasive (and good natured) ways to respond to folk who have zero faith in the scientific method but who happily follow every scam and pseudo-scientific nonsense that cross their path? [more inside]
posted by newfers on Oct 11, 2013 - 43 answers

Find this diatribe against a scientific journal's correction policy

A couple years ago I remember seeing a pretty damn hilarious itemized list of things a professor/researcher had to do to correct/update an article for publishing in a journal. It was 100 some odd items long, starting with inane requests, then veering into how some other author had disagreed with the original one and now the original had to prove it out. Research could've been related to frogs or physics+light - can't recall. I think it was on Scribd or another one of those sites that makes stuff look like a pdf/paper document. Anyone remember this?
posted by ish__ on Feb 27, 2013 - 3 answers

How to tell a reviewer they are wrong?

I am an academic, and I need advice on how to word my response to a review for a journal article. [more inside]
posted by pamplemousse of love on Jan 10, 2013 - 22 answers

Recommendations for software to track article submissions

What's a good (Mac OS) application to track journal submissions and manuscript reviews? [more inside]
posted by mateuslee on Jun 2, 2012 - 7 answers

Did you hear about the biologist who had twins? She baptized one and kept the other as a control.

What are some article length studies readily available on the internets that summarize the evidence for evolution? [more inside]
posted by holdkris99 on Dec 1, 2011 - 8 answers

Article about how "The Crucible" has stood the test of time?

Looking for any peer-reviewed article about modern critical response to Arthur Miller's "The Crucible" (No, I'm not asking you to do my homework, trust me.) [more inside]
posted by tzikeh on Feb 22, 2011 - 5 answers

Can you quote from a peer review report?

copyright/amademic publications filter: When someone writes a peer review report on a paper you hope to publish, and that review reaches you in its full original version, what is your position on quoting from it, or all of it, in, say, a book? Could you still quote from it, or all of it, if you didn’t mention the name of the reviewer?
posted by Razorinthewind on Dec 10, 2010 - 17 answers

Looking for an introduction to academic publishing

Can anyone recommend books or articles that provide information on the process of peer reviewed, academic publishing? Bonus accolades if it deals specifically with Theatre.
posted by Verdant on Nov 27, 2007 - 5 answers

Who's writing about the colossal squid this week?

I enjoy reading the Knight Science Journalism Tracker, an MIT website that gives timely peer review to popular science journalism. Can anyone recommend similar sites or blogs that do the same for other types of news. I'd love to find a site that uses a similar format to both cover world events and critique their coverage at the same time, for example.
posted by thecjm on Feb 23, 2007 - 4 answers

Dissertation Search

I'm looking for dissertations and theses on a particular subject. UMI's Digital Dissertations, which as far as I can tell is the largest central resource, won't allow me to search for anything before 2003. Do I have a good single source option apart from visiting a university library and using Web of Knowledge? Coverage at Google Scholar seems a bit scattershot, but maybe I shouldn't look a gift horse in the mouth.
posted by lbergstr on Dec 7, 2004 - 9 answers

Blogging application that includes line-numbering?

Blogging application that includes line-numbering? I'd like to publish content for peer review, in chonologic blog format, with automatic line numbering, so that people can comment, by line number, on my writing. Obviously, the line breaks and numbers have to be the same for everyone. AfterDinner.com offers this functionality, though it isn't really a blogging application. I'm a veteran Blogger user, and willing to do a little bit of creative coding (eg: light hacking of Moveable Type). Any help?
posted by scarabic on Jan 25, 2004 - 12 answers

Page: 1