Skip

64 posts tagged with inspection.
Displaying 1 through 50 of 64. Subscribe:

Help me find a house inspector in Phoenix

Anyone have recommendations on a house inspector/inspection company in Phoenix? Currently the house we are buying has had a "relocation property inspection" done by a relocation company (seller is moving away and his company is relocating him along with providing this report). I think we probably need to get a full inspection done, but would like some referrals if anyone has any. Or anyone have any opinions on if another inspection should be necessary? My relator says his inspection guy is $375 and said that in this situation, it maybe worth it to just save the $375 but it was up to me. Thanks!
posted by gregjunior on Sep 8, 2014 - 5 answers

How do I get all of this car stuff situated?

My car is past due for inspection, I didn't get a registration card in the mail, and my lisence just expired. How do I handle this? [more inside]
posted by pintapicasso on Sep 4, 2014 - 7 answers

Can I register a car in NY and drive it into Canada right away? How?

I'm leaving NYC on Friday and driving to Canada for 12 days. I have a rental booked, but also just bought a car out of state and had it delivered to a mechanic. They did a safety inspection and some minor work that will not be completed until Friday, the same day I need to leave. The car does not have temporary out of state tags or license plates but I have an appointment with the DMV on Thursday. If possible, I'd like to drive this vehicle to Canada but am very skeptical of the timeline. [more inside]
posted by nathancaswell on Jul 30, 2014 - 6 answers

Separate from an independent inspection, what to do/look for in used car

Our car saga continues (1, 2). We took some test drives over the weekend, and it's likely we'll make some moves in the near future to buy an Outback or Forester. As a first time buyer of a used car, what should I ask/look for personally, separate from the inspection to be performed by my independent mechanic? And how much oxidization is too much oxidization under the hood, anyway? [more inside]
posted by Admiral Haddock on Mar 19, 2014 - 8 answers

Arrowhead wall fixture in 70's house?

We had a home inspected today that included two of these fixtures (below cut). They say "Arrowhead" on them but even our inspector had no idea what they were. Home was built in 1972. Any ideas, old home lovers? [more inside]
posted by juniperesque on Mar 2, 2014 - 15 answers

How do I choose an inspector for a used car I'd like to buy?

I'm looking to buy a car in southwest michigan. I trust "my" mechanic in my town, but there's few cars here. Other towns, eg Grand Rapids and Lansing, have great cars, but I don't know any mechanics in those towns. By what logical process should I choose a mechanic to take potential cars to? [more inside]
posted by rebent on Feb 18, 2014 - 10 answers

You can check my nooks, but don't bother me.

We are selling our home and have an offer. My baby and I have no where to go during inspection. What happens if we stay? [more inside]
posted by MayNicholas on Nov 19, 2013 - 42 answers

Home-owners Insurance Co Wants to Survey House...After 12 years

I've had a home-owners policy with the same insurance company since purchasing my house in 2002. Last week, I had a message on my answering machine from a man identifying himself as an auditor with a 2nd party surveying firm. He said he was calling at the request of my insurance company to set up a date/time for a survey of my house. [more inside]
posted by klarck on Nov 18, 2013 - 24 answers

How can I vet a 1989 Chinook long-distance?

There is a 1989 Chinook for sale in Sacramento, CA. I live a few hours away, cannot make the drive up unless I'm going to purchase, and do not have the knowledge necessary to actually understand whether the vehicle bits or the RV bits are in acceptable condition. [more inside]
posted by jsturgill on Oct 23, 2013 - 5 answers

Help me find a Denver area home inspector

The good news is that my wife and I are preparing to make a big move to the Denver, CO area. The better news is that we've found a great house and they've accepted our offer. Now we just need a home inspector. Can you recommend one? [more inside]
posted by fremen on Oct 3, 2013 - 4 answers

Photo organization/naming software for construction inspectors?

I need to tag/organize a large number of photos taken on a daily basis by a group of construction inspectors. Preferably something Windows-based and that would prompt the tagging/naming immediately after the photos are taken. [more inside]
posted by Ham Snadwich on Aug 28, 2013 - 9 answers

Making Sure I Get the Security Deposit Back

Just moved into a new apartment. YAY! The apartment is in terrible shape. Boo. Our move-in condition form has the following clause, "I understand that the management company has also performed an inspection of the property, including digital photographs of all areas, and said report will prevail in any instances of conflicts." They will not show me their inspection report. How do I ensure that theirs doesn't say that everything is fine, and we get dinged for a whole ton of stuff that's already bad. Jurisdiction: Chicago. [more inside]
posted by hwyengr on Apr 2, 2013 - 14 answers

What video camera will meet my requirements?

I want to have a very lightweight camera that has no wires, but sends a video feed to an android device. I want to mount it on a telescoping pole for close-up inspection of stained glass windows. I do restoration and repair of stained glass for my living. So it would be great to be able to use a camera on a pole to do assessments onsite without ladders or scaffolding. [more inside]
posted by yesster on Mar 24, 2013 - 9 answers

Do we make an offer on a house we suspect has some issues?

First time homebuyers, both excited and nervous as high hell. We've been looking at houses for a few months and have finally come across one we absolutely adore. It's an older house (constructed 1922) that seems to have been immaculately kept and regularly maintained. However, with a house that age, it seems likely that there may be some issues. [more inside]
posted by Mali on Mar 22, 2013 - 22 answers

We don't need rust proofing, we just need a state inspection

Car inspection time in Philadelphia! Help us not get screwed over. [more inside]
posted by Diskeater on Dec 11, 2012 - 6 answers

What did you wish you'd known before renting a particular apartment?

When checking out potential new apartments, what problems do you wish you hadn't overlooked? [more inside]
posted by corey flood on Oct 13, 2012 - 73 answers

First go to the courthouse, then boil water

What legal bits and bobs does it take to start up a hot dog stand and/or street vendor type business? [more inside]
posted by RolandOfEld on Sep 7, 2012 - 18 answers

Cash only? Or is a check just fine?

Buying a used car. How do I handle the money aspect of it? [more inside]
posted by Spyder's Game on Jul 13, 2012 - 12 answers

Work hard for your money.

Help resolve issues we're having with our realtor. [more inside]
posted by no bueno on Jun 25, 2012 - 19 answers

Recovering from inspection at work

The organisation I work for recently had an inspection from Ofsted. We came out as well as could be expected, but I (and a colleague) am now finding it difficult to recover from the anxiety of the period. It has made us feel unconfident about what we do and we are finding it hard to focus. [more inside]
posted by toenail on Jun 16, 2012 - 10 answers

I didn't order the paint chips!

How to deal with a car dealer for problems with new car before delivery? [more inside]
posted by arcticseal on May 16, 2012 - 13 answers

How to proceed once you have your home inspection?

How to decide what to request repairs vs. credit vs. ignoring after a home inspection? [more inside]
posted by Four Flavors on Feb 21, 2012 - 19 answers

How to ground my home electrical in accordance with code?

Help me understand the national electric code with regard to rewiring and updating several rooms in my 1940s-era house. [more inside]
posted by JohnFredra on Dec 6, 2011 - 8 answers

This Old House needs an inspector?

Is a home inspector worth it to find out what deferred maintenance must be done immediately in an inherited house that I'm not selling right away? I'm thinking of getting one just to solve the deferred maintenance issues of an inherited house. [more inside]
posted by Rosie M. Banks on Nov 8, 2011 - 16 answers

When is it okay to buy a used car without a mechanical inspection?

When is it okay to buy a used car without a mechanical inspection? [more inside]
posted by registered on Jul 26, 2011 - 13 answers

Inspection, possible eviction, related to pets and lease.

Former apartment manager advised us to cut corners with regard to pets (we have two dogs, two cats) in our original lease (which was written to say we have one dog, one cat that somehow allowed us to pay a single $200 pet fee). The new manager has made this an issue as we attempt to renew our lease and has scheduled an inspection for Tuesday, which may result in eviction or us being asked to "remove" two pets. [more inside]
posted by alpha_betty on Jun 3, 2011 - 10 answers

Unbiased termite inspections in Los Angeles?

Are there companies in Los Angeles that give UNBIASED termite inspections? [more inside]
posted by rybreadmed on May 12, 2011 - 3 answers

Under what conditions can my landlord inspect my apartment?

My landlord (in Massachusetts) has given notice that they are inspecting my carbon monoxide detectors, but also intend to inspect faucets and thermostats. Is this legal? [more inside]
posted by fogster on Apr 10, 2011 - 25 answers

How can I get a question answered without schlepping down to city hall?

Can I get questions about Toronto's fire code (pertaining to residential renovations) answered without driving down to city hall? I would ideally like this info for free, of course. [more inside]
posted by bonobothegreat on Mar 11, 2011 - 4 answers

Everyone told us this never happens ...

Our unpermitted bathroom remodel, currently ongoing, has been reported to the city. Now what? [more inside]
posted by anonymous on Dec 1, 2010 - 23 answers

Wanted: one-bedroom apartment, no roaches.

I live in Toronto. My apartment has cockroaches. I'm going to move out in a few months because, dude, waking up at 4am and finding cockroaches underneath the desk in your bedroom is NOT cool. How do I find a place that doesn't have cockroaches? [more inside]
posted by chrominance on Jul 10, 2010 - 19 answers

Insurance catch-22

The insurance has been cancelled on a rental property due to dry rot, and our agent says "no company will touch it". The mortgage, as well as common sense, requires insurance. What now? [more inside]
posted by dhartung on Jun 18, 2010 - 3 answers

Will we have the itch?

We've already agreed to move in to a new apartment in two weeks, but we've received some insider information that the unit had bedbugs. What should we do? [more inside]
posted by kaudio on Jun 15, 2010 - 7 answers

Final housing inspection - how long should it be?

How long should an end-of-lease final inspection be, and what kind of questions/attitude should I permit/tolerate from the owner? I have been renting a small apartment for about four years, and have just moved out. I had the 'pre-inspection' for moving out today, and the final inspection will be held on the weekend. The apartment is in good condition, I've been a good tenant, but I'm really nervous. [more inside]
posted by different on Apr 27, 2010 - 9 answers

Can anyone recommend a reputable auto inspection service?

Seriously considering purchasing a car online from another state. What is a reputable inspection service that I can hire to ensure I won't be ripped off? [more inside]
posted by crunchtopmuffin on Apr 18, 2010 - 6 answers

Big long crack in garage - what does it mean?

On a recent home inspection, we saw a scary crack running the whole length of the detached garage. The garage is about 25 feet from the rest of the unit. Yes there's a drainage problem on one side of the garage. How horrific is this crack and what is the worst case scenario for the foundation? How much does it cost to repair? [more inside]
posted by KimikoPi on Mar 7, 2010 - 4 answers

How sour can you get before it's a lemon?

When buying a classic car or truck for the first time, what should I be aware of? [more inside]
posted by anti social order on Mar 4, 2010 - 20 answers

The finer details of moving on up

Does the hive mind have any experience with move-out inspections at buildings managed by DelRent? [more inside]
posted by renderthis on Feb 26, 2010 - 0 answers

Will my car be allowed into NZ?

Does anyone have any experience bringing a car to New Zealand from Australia? I'm particularly interested in how rigorous the inspection will be. [more inside]
posted by twirlypen on Dec 27, 2009 - 6 answers

Will a cracked tiny lower headlight make me fail my inspection?

Will-my-car-pass-inspection-in-MA filter: cracked lower headlight? [more inside]
posted by oinopaponton on Dec 26, 2009 - 10 answers

Car inspection dispute

Car Inspection PA: I recently have been told by mechanic that because my driver's side window is nonoperational ( the window is permanently up, it has a blown motor) it will not pass inspection. I just can't believe that because of a window, I wouldn't pass inspection. Is this a valid claim? I have a 1999 mercury cougar.
posted by cheechman85 on Dec 18, 2009 - 15 answers

Can I bring my SO's car to the (DC) inspection station for her?

My girlfriend's car needs its initial inspection in DC. Can I take it to the inspection station for her? [more inside]
posted by AAAAAThatsFiveAs on Dec 6, 2009 - 7 answers

OK, so like, the walls are still here, so I guess things are still cool?

What should a landlord look for during a mid-lease inspection? [more inside]
posted by ignignokt on Nov 20, 2009 - 12 answers

Home inspector

I recently came across an opportunity to do home inspections part time. Details inside. [more inside]
posted by cheechman85 on Jun 9, 2009 - 4 answers

Flip or Flop?

Purchasing a fix and flip. Just had the inspection. Totally freaking out. [more inside]
posted by shew on Apr 17, 2009 - 21 answers

Quest for Car Legality

Please guide me through several steps for registering a car and related inspections / et cetera, in North Carolina. Bonus points if you can phrase the instructions in the form of a World of Warcraft quest. [more inside]
posted by lazaruslong on Dec 18, 2008 - 7 answers

Home inspector recommendations in metro NY

Any recommendations for a good home inspector in the metro NY area? (more inside) [more inside]
posted by dr_dank on Nov 30, 2008 - 6 answers

long distance car buying -- slightly paranoid and overeager buyer

After months and months of looking, I've finally found my dream car. The problem is, it's a few hundred miles away from me... and my trusted mechanic. Help me make this happen! [more inside]
posted by TayBridge on Oct 4, 2008 - 6 answers

Not Inspector Gadget

Would you please share your recommendations for home inspectors and/or pest inspectors in or around Oakland, CA? [more inside]
posted by apostrophe on May 25, 2008 - 4 answers

How can I pass my home inspection? (fire inspector)

I need to install some fireblocks (aka fire stops AND fire block[ing]) in my basement. What can I use to make these? Can I use regular sheetrock to make these or do they have to be some special type of sheetrock? If I can't use sheetrock, what type and thickness of wood do they need to be?
posted by tickettrader on Apr 22, 2008 - 9 answers

Page: 1 2
Posts