Join 3,558 readers in helping fund MetaFilter (Hide)

25 posts tagged with comics and books. (View popular tags)
Displaying 1 through 25 of 25. Subscribe:

Help me find something as good as Zita the Spacegirl for my kids?

I have been reading Zita the Spacegirl to my kids (7 & 5, boy and girl) very night. For those who haven't read it, it is a terrific graphic novel for kids full of adventure and strange creatures, with a great message. What else would you reccomend, as we approach the end of this great series? Specifically thinking of a modern, adventure-filled (but not overly mature) graphic novel or series. Science fiction or fantasy would be ideal.
posted by blahblahblah on Jul 1, 2014 - 23 answers

The American SF "Canon"

For an upcoming project I'm putting together what's meant to be a comprehensive timeline of important (even "necessary") works of American science fiction since the late 19th century. [more inside]
posted by gerryblog on Mar 23, 2014 - 68 answers

Sci-fi, horror, fantasy, and weird fiction from Central/Eastern Europe?

What are the best sci-fi, horror, and fantasy books, movies, and comics from Central and Eastern Europe? "Best" includes both the finest and also the most popularly influential, as well as both pro- and anti-communist material, as well as both past and contemporary work. Bonus points for such fiction from the former Yugoslavia! [more inside]
posted by Sticherbeast on Feb 10, 2014 - 16 answers

Searching for a specific Lynda Barry collection.

When I was a teenager, I checked out a Lynda Barry collection of Marlys-Maybonne-Freddie Stories from the school library. The stories were mostly about Maybonne, and in particular contained a storyline where she fooled around with a Vietnam veteran in a car. What (likely out of print) collection am I remembering? [more inside]
posted by Juliet Banana on Jan 22, 2014 - 15 answers

I am Looking for the Name of a Comic Book Series Where The Bad Guys Won

Hi there. I am looking for a comic book mini-series, probably from the 1980's but possibly from the 1990's. It is not a Marvel or DC series. The premise of the series is that 5 or 10 years before the series begins, a Dr. Doom-like character leads an army of supervillians and actually defeats all the superheroes, killing or depowering them. The mini-series ran for 5 or 6 issues. Any help would be greatly appreciated. Thanks!
posted by jack.brodey on Jan 7, 2014 - 8 answers

Comic books for children

My five-year-old son and I just finished reading Bone, and we need a new comic to read together. I'd prefer something with an ongoing story, but good non-serial comics are also welcome.
posted by mokin on Jan 21, 2013 - 19 answers

Sequential Art for the Slammer

I need recommendations for comic strip collections, graphic novels, and manga that can be purchased from Amazon, don't contain drug/sex/gang content, and can enjoyed by someone in their twenties. This is very much a follow up to this question. [more inside]
posted by Juliet Banana on Sep 18, 2012 - 30 answers

Subnormal Memory

Attempting to identify a comic book artist! [more inside]
posted by DisreputableDog on Apr 24, 2011 - 5 answers

Rapscallions wanted

I am looking for new books in the same category as Le Petit Nicolas, Gian Burrasca, and, kind of, Tom Sawyer and Huck Finn. [more inside]
posted by bq on Apr 9, 2011 - 9 answers

Where to buy bandes dessinées online?

Where can I buy French-language European comics online? [more inside]
posted by twirlip on Dec 6, 2010 - 8 answers

I need books about girl gamers.

Find me books and other media about girl gamers, please! Any type of gamer can apply. I've already got 'I Kill Giants', 'Halting State' and 'This Is Not A Game'. Are there any other media that portrays gamers of the female variety?
posted by bq on Nov 10, 2010 - 16 answers

cynical books for YA readers

Books or graphic novels with very sarcastic characters that might be suitable for YA readers? [more inside]
posted by shinybaum on Oct 3, 2010 - 37 answers

Looking for some good sf pulp fiction

Looking for suggestions for stories, novels, or comics in the vein of Mervyn Peake and China Mieville. [more inside]
posted by Ritchie on Sep 28, 2009 - 11 answers

Total Crud Face Universe and Galaxy

I am obsessed with artist&writer Lynda Barry, and don't believe she has any peer or equal in the world of comics. Prove me wrong; who else would I love? [more inside]
posted by Juliet Banana on Sep 24, 2009 - 30 answers

Superpowerdown

ComicsFilter: I like Harvey Birdman and recently picked up Incognito. I think it's a neat question to ponder what superheroes/villains do when they have to pretend to be normal. What else can you recommend in this genre? [more inside]
posted by sio42 on Aug 27, 2009 - 19 answers

When is it out?

Is there a site like www.myepisodes.com but for books or comics? [more inside]
posted by Iax on May 3, 2009 - 4 answers

Comic Book Question

Comic Book Filter. Help, my wife has 2000+ comic books from the 80's & 90's...all your favorites - Superman, Batman, Green Lantern. How do we get them appraised or sell them? [more inside]
posted by mikedelic on Apr 17, 2009 - 11 answers

Where can I find English translations of European comics?

Is there any database or online fan community focused on translating European comics? [more inside]
posted by monkeyagent on Aug 14, 2008 - 2 answers

Cheap comic books

In Nashville TN there is a great place called The Great Escape which used to, and may still, sell crappy old comic books for 15 to 25 cents apiece. Is there such a place in the NYC area?
posted by josher71 on Jun 12, 2007 - 1 answer

American Popular culture from the early 20th century?

I'm looking for sites related to American popular culture from the early 20th century: books, films, radio, magazines, music, dance, comic strips, celebrities — you name it. I'm particularly interested on the period between the wars, but open to great stuff from before (and during) World War I, as well. Little Nemo, Keystone Kops, the Lindy Hop, Enrico Caruso, Fatty Arbuckle, Al Jolson, Clara Bow, Flash Gordon, Alice blue, Teddy bears, etc. These are all the sorts of things I'm after, especially as they're represented on the web. Bonus points for sites with RSS feeds. [more inside]
posted by jdroth on Nov 3, 2006 - 10 answers

Good non-fiction books about comic books?

Anybody know any good non-fiction books about comic books, their publishers, their history, etc?
posted by Runkst on Jul 23, 2006 - 18 answers

Can I sell a bunch of 1990s comics in Phil?

Where/how should I sell a bunch of 1990s comics in the Philadelphia area? [more inside]
posted by UMDirector on Jun 27, 2006 - 7 answers

Fill my every waking moment with the awesome fruit of your knowledge-loins

Need more input! I need suggestions for games/reading/comics/music etc. [more inside]
posted by longbaugh on Mar 18, 2006 - 21 answers

Graphic Novels for Snobs

I'm a snob. What graphic novels should I read? [more inside]
posted by grumblebee on Apr 25, 2005 - 67 answers

Graphic Novel Recommendations (Superhero Genre Preferred)

I am looking for recommendations for some good graphic novels. More inside...
posted by Tallguy on Apr 13, 2004 - 50 answers

Page: 1