Join 3,561 readers in helping fund MetaFilter (Hide)

33 posts tagged with Preview. (View popular tags)
Displaying 1 through 33 of 33. Subscribe:

Related tags:
+ (12)
+ (8)
+ (7)
+ (5)


What Happened to ‘Save All Changes’, OS X Preview?

For years I opened dozens of photos at once in Preview on the Mac, cropped them all, and hit the button marked 'Save All Changes.' Since shifting to Mountain Lion I now have to hit the Save button dozens of times to accomplish the same thing. Is there a better way to do this, or a different, better program?
posted by LeLiLo on Aug 11, 2013 - 8 answers

Turn off Google Drive Preview "Feature"

Google Drive (formerly Google Docs) has just unveiled a new "feature," that makes Google Drive open most files in a "preview" mode when you click on them, instead of just opening the file for editing/saving/etc. I would like to turn this "feature" off so that my files actually open. How can I do this? [more inside]
posted by decathecting on Feb 28, 2013 - 7 answers

The Mighty Avengers vs the Modern World

Will there be a place in the lobby to check cell phones at tomorrow's preview screening of The Avengers at the AMC Empire 25 in NYC? [more inside]
posted by Devoidoid on Apr 30, 2012 - 10 answers

photoshop files I create often don't include previews. how do I fix that?

photoshop files I create often don't include previews. how do I fix that? [more inside]
posted by krautland on Apr 8, 2011 - 6 answers

Help my boy pretend to be Joey Barton (not really)

[European Football League Periodical Filter]My 8-year-old son enjoys watching and playing a variety of sports. He has recently latched on to being very into the Barclay's Premier League, La Liga, and the Bundesliga. Help me find a season preview periodical or magazine that he can pore over. Examples of what I mean inside... [more inside]
posted by kuanes on Mar 28, 2011 - 4 answers

Simple PDF of Photos question?

How do I make a PDF file of several photos that will show the names of each photo. On a Mac. Preferably, just using the MacOS' Preview application. [more inside]
posted by NatProp on Mar 22, 2011 - 4 answers

How can I immediately preview on my Macbook the picture I just took with my SLR?

Please help me use my Mac as an immediate preview/proof window for the picture I just took with my digital camera. This has to be doable right??? [more inside]
posted by jwhowa on Feb 7, 2011 - 12 answers

There was a magic substance and an English lady and, umm....

Can't-remember-book-filter: I read a preview in the back of another book but I can't remember the title or author of either one... [more inside]
posted by yggdrasil on Dec 16, 2010 - 6 answers

3D software for viewing .obj models!

I'm looking for a simple, free 3D viewing software in which I could import an .obj I'd export from 3dsMax and allow me to rotate around it/zoom and the such. [more inside]
posted by CelebrenIthil on Nov 24, 2010 - 8 answers

Clean up my PDFs!

Save a clean copy of a marked-up PDF from Preview? (Mac OS 10.6) [more inside]
posted by dondiego87 on Oct 8, 2010 - 7 answers

Facebook's Blogger blog post preview is misbehaving.

I have a Blogger blog. People other than me have been semi-regularly sharing my blog posts on Facebook. Neat! But I don't like how Facebook previews the content of my blog post. It shows a photo of my face (from my Blogger profile) and the permanent text from my blog's banner. I wish it would preview the beginning of the blog post (and, ideally, not show my face). This issue seems to be Blogger-specific. [more inside]
posted by John Cohen on Sep 20, 2010 - 16 answers

Help me aggregate my food blogs

Looking for a web app or site that will allow me to view multiple webpages simultaneously. Think Google Chrome new tab page, but live. [more inside]
posted by wile e on Feb 19, 2010 - 8 answers

What is it called when a video game gives you a preview of all powers in the first level?

VideoGameDesignFilter: What is it called when, in the first level or sequence of a game, the player is given all the available powers, only to have those powers taken away and rebuilt up? [more inside]
posted by MostHolyPorcine on Aug 2, 2009 - 20 answers

Who's the kid in the "Preview" icon?

Who is the child in the icon for the "Preview" application in OS X? [more inside]
posted by Lucinda on Apr 21, 2009 - 9 answers

The problem with Preview

MacFilter: How do I get Preview back? [more inside]
posted by jammy on Nov 24, 2008 - 3 answers

Preview isn't previewing pdfs properly

I'm having trouble viewing pdfs using Preview on my Mac (OS 10.4.11). Parts of the document don't show up. I usually have to close the file and reopen it several times before the entire document renders properly. Has anyone else had this problem, and were you able to fix it? And, if so, how? [more inside]
posted by bluefly on Oct 9, 2008 - 6 answers

How to preview pdfs in Explorer?

How do I preview a PDF file in Windows Explorer (XP Professional) without opening it? [more inside]
posted by anonymous on Aug 4, 2008 - 7 answers

Magellan Clone

File Lister With Preview, like the old Lotus Magellan [more inside]
posted by KRS on Jul 24, 2008 - 2 answers

Smooth-scrolling PDFs?

What is the best way to scan documents so that they scroll well in OS X? [more inside]
posted by cgomez on Jun 5, 2008 - 5 answers

markup!

I want to highlight and otherwise mark-up a PDF document in OSX. [more inside]
posted by Pants! on May 19, 2008 - 4 answers

Dam you firefox, why can't you be more like Safari?

I love Firefox. I love using the Fox. I love the warm and fuzzy feeling I get from using opensource software. But, I am drawn to Safari, and for only one feature. I love the way Safari handles PDFs. I like how it opens them in the blink of an eye, letting me view the PDF and then save it with the click of a button (overlay? whatever). What I'm wondering is, is there any way to get the same behaviour in Firefox. I'm relatively new to Macs (soon to be 1 year), so I'm not too familiar with all the ins and outs, but I assume it is somehow connected to Preview.app. There was an earlier attempt at doing something similar on ask.MeFi, but that didn't really lead anywhere. Google searching doesn't help either. In case you are wondering, I like this because I deal with a lot of PDF files (journal articles, woo). I'd consider switching to Safari as a main browser if it wasn't for the little differences (FF3's address bar, Command+1/2/3/4/etc, copious amount of extensions).
posted by doctor.dan on Mar 15, 2008 - 10 answers

Help! My printed PDF pages are so small that they’re ruining my vision!

Using Preview for PDFs, what can I do to maximize the size of the text as they appear on printouts? [more inside]
posted by numinous on Dec 7, 2007 - 17 answers

Uh, so there's this movie...I dunno what it's called...

MovieFilter: Help me find the movie about teenage Star Wars fans traveling across country to steal the script for Episode 1! [more inside]
posted by argylekneesocks on Nov 20, 2007 - 5 answers

Previewing email content in Yahoo inbox?

In the Yahoo email inbox - is there a way to see the first sentence of the email like I am shown in my Gmail inbox? [more inside]
posted by cda on Jul 13, 2007 - 7 answers

I'd like some continuity please.

Is there a way to set up Preview and the preview in TexShop to display the pdf in continuous mode rather than one-single-page-at-a-time mode? I know you can do this for each document individually through the menus (or by right-clicking), but is there some hidden preference (in the plist?) that I can change to coerce Preview and TexShop to display in continuous mode by default?
posted by Friday on Jun 4, 2007 - 5 answers

How do I fit to page multiple landscape slides in Mac Preview?

How do I "Fit to Page" two slides (landscape orientation) in Mac's Preview if I'm printing two to a page? [more inside]
posted by remixer96 on Mar 20, 2007 - 2 answers

How can I get Preview and Aperture to share a single color space?

Why do my photos look different in Aperture after I white-balanced them with Preview? [more inside]
posted by BlackLeotardFront on Dec 15, 2006 - 1 answer

Font preview in Illustrator CS2

How can I get Illustrator CS2's font preview to work on my Windows machines? [more inside]
posted by hydrophonic on Oct 13, 2006 - 2 answers

Freezing Windows Picture & Fax Viewer

Everytime i preview a JPG stored on my Windows XP desktop my whole PC freezes up for around 10 seconds...usually longer. [more inside]
posted by lemonfridge on Sep 5, 2006 - 4 answers

Seeking an application for previewing videos.

Anyone know of a video player or video catalog application with thumbnails? [more inside]
posted by mragreeable on Apr 30, 2006 - 4 answers

Reading Spotlight Comments without using Get Info.

In Mac OS X, the "Finder/Spotlight Comments" is a handy way for me to store additional information about documents. It would be great to be able to read them without having to "Get Info". In particular, I'd like to either have them show up when hovering over the document in Finder (that is, use them as Help Tags), or have them show up in the Preview pane. [more inside]
posted by math on Apr 5, 2006 - 5 answers

Adobe Reader vs Preview for Mac OS 10.4?

What, if any, are the advantages to Adobe Acrobat Reader over Preview for Mac OS 10.4?
posted by cahlers on Nov 15, 2005 - 18 answers

Streamlining live preview code

This live preview hack seemed so beautiful and simple that I'm currently implementing it on a personal website. Any geekerHeads out there who can find any potential problems, or better yet, provide something more efficient? [more inside]
posted by poopy on Mar 18, 2004 - 3 answers

Page: 1