Skip

I am good at arguing
August 22, 2008 5:38 PM   Subscribe

I seem to be really good at debating. How can I use this "talent"?

I have a passion for debating. Whatever the topic is (excluding biology and related sciences, of which i'm 100% ignorant), I think I can "feel" when other people are afraid, have weak arguments, or are shocked by some obscure stats I pull from the top of my head. Being an analytic person, I seem to be able to use all this to my advantage and counter-attack with well-constructed arguments or a good sophisms, enough to win the discussion.

Question is: given that I am not a lawyer or a politician, but a computer scientist, how can I put this "talent" to good use?
posted by dcrocha to Human Relations (24 answers total) 5 users marked this as a favorite

Use it to climb the corporate ladder.
posted by mpls2 at 5:46 PM on August 22, 2008

Your local school needs a good debate coach, and if they already have one, they need an assistant coach. It may require a few Saturdays hanging out in high school cafeterias, but debate teams can always use volunteers who can spend time making sure the arguments are air-tight. Four years of high school speech and debate changed my adolescent life and taught me far more than high school classes ever did. The formats and the styles are all easy to learn, but what the debate community really needs is a return to the fundamentals of logical argument.
posted by l33tpolicywonk at 6:11 PM on August 22, 2008

Learn humility. Prepare to lose. Prepare to win.

Read up on biology and related sciences - just in case.
posted by Nick Verstayne at 6:12 PM on August 22, 2008

Teach. I was into debate and Model UN and all that a lot, and I couldn't be happier than I am as a teacher. I teach English abroad, and pretty much the thing that makes me marketable is that I can produce and understand language and all the nuance behind it extremely well - skills I honed in