Join 3,438 readers in helping fund MetaFilter (Hide)

OSX: Future as a programmer dashed by failure to interpret Terminal error
August 20, 2008 6:49 PM   Subscribe

Multiple sources credit this Hivelogic post as the definitive guide to getting MySQL up and running on a Mac OS X. But I can't get past the first few steps.

I am not a programmer. But I wish I was; they earn more than me and have the best office in the building. I know HTML and CSS and basic PHP. I have been trying out a bunch of Ruby, Python, Django, and PHP tutorials lately but they're all kind of useless because they're not directly applicable to a hosted, "live site" environment that I'm used to ... So, I'm trying to install MySQL on my Intel Macs running 10.5.4 (powerbook and imac) to have a local testing environment but BANG I'm an idiot and I cannot get through this apparently simple tutorial. Of course, the comments are closed and my Googling yields no answer. I was about to give up when I remembered my good friends over here.

Here's what happens, I try to download and build MySQL as instructed:

curl -O http://mysql.he.net/Downloads/MySQL-5.0/mysql-5.0.45.tar.gz
tar xzvf mysql-5.0.45.tar.gz

But I get the following error:

gzip: stdin: not in gzip format
tar: Child returned status 1
tar: Error exit delayed from previous errors

I've tried downloading newer versions of MySQL but I just don't know what I'm doing.
posted by metajc to Computers & Internet (12 answers total) 2 users marked this as a favorite

You can try MAMP :Macintosh, Apache, Mysql and PHP. I had managed to get MySQL working at one point on my Ibook but ran into issues if I were to say reboot with out remembering to shut down the Mysql first. This a lot easier to work with, or so I found, and have had no problem running test wordpress sites and a few other packages requiring PHP and Mysql. I wouldn't use it to host anything live to the web but for playing around/learning it works great and is really easy to install.