Skip

DVD Burning 101 for Macintosh
August 4, 2008 2:52 PM   Subscribe

I was hoping someone could recommend a one-stop DVD burning software for my Mac. I am wanting to make dvds that will work on my regular home player...I am running the latest operating system. My hopes are to have it be able to put a movie on a DVD-R and not invest in more expensive DVD-dual layer discs. Unfortunately, I am not good at using three different types of software to rip, edit, and burn, and hence the request for one all in one package. I know Wondershare does only dvd burning to dual layer. I have seen Fast DVD Copy but not sure how good it works, though it looks nice. Any suggestions? I appreciate all advice and wish all respondents and awesome week. Thanks.
posted by snap_dragon to Computers & Internet (8 answers total) 1 user marked this as a favorite

I like VisualHub. It can do conversions to DVD.
posted by mrbill at 3:05 PM on August 4, 2008

Why not ilife?
posted by empath at 3:51 PM on August 4, 2008

I know a lot of people really like DVD2OneX, but I think we'd need more information about your "edit" requirement--DVD2OneX will take a commercial dual-layer DVD and compress it juuuust enough so you can burn the contents to a regular DVD and still take advantage of the extras and menus. But it doesn't allow for "editing" per se.
posted by bcwinters at 4:06 PM on August 4, 2008

Roxio Toast is pretty much the standard when it comes to disc-burning software on the Mac. There are many cheaper solutions, but if you want something simple & straightforward in one application, that's your best bet.
posted by designbot at 4:13 PM on August 4, 2008