Skip

I want to pump ME up...
May 28, 2008 7:35 AM   Subscribe

I'm going to start working out... But what should I do?

My friend and I decided to finally start using the gyms at our apartments. We live about 3/4 of a mile from each other, so we'll alternate biking to the other's complex and work out there.

We both do a bit of biking on the weekend, but typically not more than 20 miles at this point.

I've never worked out before, except for starting to ride a bike again late last year. I'm 25, 5'2", and between 130-140 pounds. I want to get and stay somewhat lean and have the same routine each week just getting progressively more difficult (e.g., Mondays are always abs, Tuesdays arms, etc). I'm not overly concerned with losing weight - I just want to be healthier overall and get the typical benefits that a regular workout routine provides.

The gyms have the "usual" gym equipment as far as I can tell, but I'm at a loss as to 1.)what and 2.)how many times to do things.
My semi-cardio warm-up and cool-down will be walking or biking to/from our respective gyms, but what should I do in the middle?
posted by odi.et.amo to Sports, Hobbies, & Recreation (11 answers total) 6 users marked this as a favorite

Just ask the beefiest person at any place for advice. Chances are high that you'll get it and that other person will probably be very flattered. Asking for help is very ok at the gym.
posted by uandt at 8:15 AM on May 28, 2008

First thing first. One of the best ways of staying lean and in shape is to have an actual cardio session that is more rigorous than walking or biking for only a couple of minutes. I would suggest a 10 minute run to end your session in the treadmill will be really helpful, since you are just a begginer you can start just "jogging" at about 4.0 and increase this velocity little by little. However after a couple of weeks (or maybe after a month) you should progress to more minutes and a higher speed setting.