Join 3,519 readers in helping fund MetaFilter (Hide)

Best free budgeting software when being paid twice a year
May 9, 2008 2:40 PM   Subscribe

I need to find a simple, preferably free budgeting program that will allow me to enter income twice a year rather than on a monthly basis.

I'm a graduate student who gets paid my stipend twice a year rather than on a monthly basis. This means that I often find myself short of money at the end of the six month period and am in dire need of good budgeting software. So far all the options I've tried haven't worked out well for me. I gave Mint a shot, but it doesn't seem to actually allow one to budget amounts of money. It automatically records bank transactions but usually with a delay of a week or so. This makes it pretty much useless for my purposes. I tried Cha-Ching but found that it didn't seem to have an option for yearly payments. Similar problem with PearBudget. This is my first year living on my own and I'm always doing stupid things like overdrawing my account because I forgot about a rent check and my taxes check and both got cleared at the same time. If you feel that a budgeting software wouldn't be the best option for me I'd love to hear your strategies for effective budgeting too.
posted by peacheater to Work & Money (7 answers total) 1 user marked this as a favorite

Have you tried a simple excel worksheet? I budget the future by plugging in my monthly expenses and income over a year. It predicts when I will get low on funds and allows me to plan ahead so that I am never overdrawn. I would be happy to send you a template.
posted by prefpara at 2:49 PM on May 9, 2008

Not budgeting software, but allows for using any budgeting software:

Why don't you just put the money in a savings account (emigrant direct or equivalent), and just have an auto-transfer twice a month like a regular paycheck? Then you can budget off of that.