Pay / Prevailing Wage Problem:
March 13, 2008 6:23 PM   Subscribe

Help me convince company execs that it's time to bump entry level starting pay.

A search of previous questions turned up a lot of good advice on getting a raise for oneself, but this is not about MY compensation, which is fair, fine & dandy.

I'm a salaried manager, but 90% of our workforce is hourly, unskilled factory labor. The starting pay for these laborers is low. Not minimum-wage low, but down in the bottom 10th percentile (according to our city and state gov't wage data).

No shock: this contributes to poor morale (constant complaints about their low pay), very high turnover, and makes recruiting / retention extremely difficult.

It has been nearly TEN YEARS since this starting pay rate was increased. What used to be a competitive wage now lags behind all other major employers in our area.

There are advancement opportunities, and factory employees can work their way up- but the pay for these 'advanced' positions is still less than the starting pay at many local companies. There are also annual raises (which range from 1.5 - 3%.)

Important note: this company is not evil, and is not run by Mr. Scrooge. Or Mr. Burns. I love my job and am completely loyal to the organization. I respect our execs and believe that their intentions are generally good at heart.

But on this starting-pay issue, I am up against a mindset which just baffles me.

When I broach the subject, I try all of the afore mentioned arguments: it's been almost a decade, gov't wage data shows that comparable employers have raised wages 16% during this same period, our employees constantly cite our low pay as their reason for quitting, morale suffers, quality suffers, recruiting suffers, etc. etc.

The response is the same each time: