<?xml version="1.0" encoding="utf-8"?>
<rss version="2.0"
    xmlns:dc="http://purl.org/dc/elements/1.1/"
     xmlns:admin="http://webns.net/mvcb/"
     xmlns:content="http://purl.org/rss/1.0/modules/content/"
     xmlns:rdf="http://www.w3.org/1999/02/22-rdf-syntax-ns#">
	<channel> 

	<title>Comments on: Bot Blocking</title>
	<link>http://ask.metafilter.com/8304/Bot-Blocking/</link>
	<description>Comments on Ask MetaFilter post Bot Blocking</description>
	<pubDate>Mon, 28 Jun 2004 13:36:12 -0800</pubDate>
	<lastBuildDate>Mon, 28 Jun 2004 13:36:12 -0800</lastBuildDate>
	<language>en-us</language>
	<docs>http://blogs.law.harvard.edu/tech/rss</docs>
	<ttl>60</ttl>

	<item>
		<title>Question: Bot Blocking</title>
		<link>http://ask.metafilter.com/8304/Bot-Blocking</link>	
		<description>The rather rude Popdex bot has been bugging my referrer log every 5-10 minutes. I wish to block it via a &quot;deny from&quot; in my .htaccess, but the source address, http://h69-10-144-111.n-01.net, fails to resolve to an IP. How do I block this rather obnoxious crawler?</description>
		<guid isPermaLink="false">post:ask.metafilter.com,2004:site.8304</guid>
		<pubDate>Mon, 28 Jun 2004 13:25:40 -0800</pubDate>
		<dc:creator>brownpau</dc:creator>
		
			<category>popdex</category>
		
			<category>bot</category>
		
			<category>htaccess</category>
		
			<category>server</category>
		
	</item> <item>
		<title>By: skallas</title>
		<link>http://ask.metafilter.com/8304/Bot-Blocking#161258</link>	
		<description>You can block by USER_AGENT if you can&apos;t get the IP.  I don&apos;t remember the syntax offhand but a few google searches will probably get you on your way.</description>
		<guid isPermaLink="false">comment:ask.metafilter.com,2004:site.8304-161258</guid>
		<pubDate>Mon, 28 Jun 2004 13:36:12 -0800</pubDate>
		<dc:creator>skallas</dc:creator>
	</item><item>
		<title>By: duckstab</title>
		<link>http://ask.metafilter.com/8304/Bot-Blocking#161264</link>	
		<description>Their DNS is broken. The IP is 69.10.144.111.&lt;br&gt;
&lt;tt&gt;sean@tau:~$ host popdex.com&lt;br&gt;
popdex.com              A       69.10.144.111&lt;br&gt;
sean@tau:~$ host 69.10.144.111&lt;br&gt;
Name: h69-10-144-111.n-01.net&lt;br&gt;
Address: 69.10.144.111&lt;/tt&gt;</description>
		<guid isPermaLink="false">comment:ask.metafilter.com,2004:site.8304-161264</guid>
		<pubDate>Mon, 28 Jun 2004 13:44:16 -0800</pubDate>
		<dc:creator>duckstab</dc:creator>
	</item><item>
		<title>By: brownpau</title>
		<link>http://ask.metafilter.com/8304/Bot-Blocking#161266</link>	
		<description>Ah, I suspected that prefix might have been it. Thanks, duckstab. I&apos;m now blocking the bot. And not a moment too soon; it just hit me 32 times in 3 minutes.</description>
		<guid isPermaLink="false">comment:ask.metafilter.com,2004:site.8304-161266</guid>
		<pubDate>Mon, 28 Jun 2004 13:52:04 -0800</pubDate>
		<dc:creator>brownpau</dc:creator>
	</item>
	</channel>
</rss>
