What do they want with my website?
February 6, 2008 4:33 AM
Subscribe
In the last 24 hours I've received several messages all requesting prices to place ads on my wifes website. What's going on?
All the messages have the following format:
Good day,
My name is xxxxxx and I am contacting you to inquire eventual purchase of a link on your website (naturesbestshot.com).
Could you please give us the prices for the following ad options:
1) text link on your homepage only
2) text link on all pages
3) text box 120x60, 125x125 on homepage
4) text box 120x60, 125x125 on all pages
The reply-to addresses are all @yahoo and fit with the link/banner requests (ie hooha marketing or suchlike) but the senders address is usually somewhere in Romania and something exotic like foxyluvr9857@xxxxx.ru.
My wife has absolutely no interest in any advertising on her site but I would really like to know what all these folks are up to. What do they possibly have to gain? I have no intention of replying to them - I assume that is the correct course of action?
posted by Umhlangan to computers & internet (6 comments total)
2 users marked this as a favorite
Don't reply.
posted by Zarkonnen at 4:48 AM on February 6, 2008